The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 23, 2013, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt Siler View Post

Manager's brother is league UIC. He claims to have called W regional and was told batter should have been called out. Dist UIC hosting tournament tells me he called W regional and was told PU was correct, R3 was properly called out. in reading 6.06 (c) (several times) it appears clear to me that the call was incorrect, that the batter should have been called out.

Any help out there?

Here's the Rule

7.09 It is interference by a batter or a runner when—

(c) Before two are out and a runner on third base, the batter hinders a fielder in making a play at home base; the runner is out;


If there were 2 outs then the batter is out.

Blue got the call correct.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 23, 2013, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteBooth View Post
Here's the Rule

7.09 It is interference by a batter or a runner when—

(c) Before two are out and a runner on third base, the batter hinders a fielder in making a play at home base; the runner is out;


If there were 2 outs then the batter is out.

Blue got the call correct.

Pete Booth
I think the protest would be that the play was not at HB but at 3B. How the committee would rule is moot since the protest procedure was not followed.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 23, 2013, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 7
709(c) covers a play at home, runner is out if less than 2 outs. In this case play was at third when R3 went down the line too far. I am getting wildly different versions between the manager, fans and district. Looking for the correct call on the runner. I believe 6.06(c) covers it, even though it could be worded better.

District said there was never a protest, but again I was in Mexico fishing (thank god!)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 23, 2013, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
Something fishy going on here, and I don't mean down in ol Mexico way!!
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 23, 2013, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
[QUOTE]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt Siler View Post
709(c) covers a play at home, runner is out if less than 2 outs.

I believe 6.06(c) covers it, even though it could be worded better.
The KEY phrase in your OP

Catcher drops pitch and it rolls away.

Since F2 did not catch the ball cleanly Rule 6 does NOT apply here, rule 7 does. If you do not like 7.09(c) then use rule 7.11.

B1 in your OP is classified as a member of the offensive team and not a batter.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth

Last edited by PeteBooth; Fri Aug 23, 2013 at 02:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 23, 2013, 03:06pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteBooth View Post

Since F2 did not catch the ball cleanly Rule 6 does NOT apply here, rule 7 does.
How do you figure?

He's a batter until he completes his time at bat.

7.09(c) does not apply, the play was not at home.

7.11 is applied when the person that commits the interference cannot be declared out (on-deck batter, coach, retired batter, retired runner, etc).

Rule 6.06(c) is the appropriate rule for this situation.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 23, 2013, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
How do you figure?

He's a batter until he completes his time at bat.

7.09(c) does not apply, the play was not at home.

7.11 is applied when the person that commits the interference cannot be declared out (on-deck batter, coach, retired batter, retired runner, etc).

Rule 6.06(c) is the appropriate rule for this situation.
Disagree,

As stated when the ball gets away from F2, B1 is not classified as the batter but as a member of the offensive team. Check your materials (MLBUM / JEA BRD etc.)

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 23, 2013, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
The rule to apply here is 7.11 and 7.11 penalty. When there is a passed ball or wild pitch the batter is considered an offensive player, he must vacate any area to allow a defensive player the chance to put out the runner. The runner is out, or the batter is out if the interference occurs on a play at home with 2 outs.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 23, 2013, 01:54pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteBooth View Post
Here's the Rule

7.09 It is interference by a batter or a runner when—

(c) Before two are out and a runner on third base, the batter hinders a fielder in making a play at home base; the runner is out;


If there were 2 outs then the batter is out.

Blue got the call correct.

Pete Booth
He wasn't making a play at home, he was making a play at third.

I'm also dubious that it was even interference in the first place but I'll stop short of saying it wasn't since I did not see the play.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter Interference JasonTX Baseball 1 Wed Mar 13, 2013 03:17pm
Umpire Interference / Batter Interference bob jenkins Baseball 17 Mon Feb 06, 2012 09:57pm
Batter Interference? Spence Baseball 14 Mon May 02, 2005 11:28am
Batter Interference? WestMichBlue Softball 9 Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:11pm
Batter interference.....7-3-5a not 7-3-5c spots101 Baseball 4 Sun Sep 22, 2002 05:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1