![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
He's a batter until he completes his time at bat. 7.09(c) does not apply, the play was not at home. 7.11 is applied when the person that commits the interference cannot be declared out (on-deck batter, coach, retired batter, retired runner, etc). Rule 6.06(c) is the appropriate rule for this situation.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
As stated when the ball gets away from F2, B1 is not classified as the batter but as a member of the offensive team. Check your materials (MLBUM / JEA BRD etc.) Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
|
|||
The rule to apply here is 7.11 and 7.11 penalty. When there is a passed ball or wild pitch the batter is considered an offensive player, he must vacate any area to allow a defensive player the chance to put out the runner. The runner is out, or the batter is out if the interference occurs on a play at home with 2 outs.
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
Pete, I sure don't like being wrong but I am not too proud to admit when I am. You are correct, my apologies for being so blatantly wrong.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Batter Interference | JasonTX | Baseball | 1 | Wed Mar 13, 2013 03:17pm |
Umpire Interference / Batter Interference | bob jenkins | Baseball | 17 | Mon Feb 06, 2012 09:57pm |
Batter Interference? | Spence | Baseball | 14 | Mon May 02, 2005 11:28am |
Batter Interference? | WestMichBlue | Softball | 9 | Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:11pm |
Batter interference.....7-3-5a not 7-3-5c | spots101 | Baseball | 4 | Sun Sep 22, 2002 05:21pm |