The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 29, 2013, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
In the scenario described in the OP, it would be a balk under current MLB rules assuming the pitcher did not disengage before the feint to 3rd.

In FED a balk is an immediate dead ball but I dont think that is always true in MLB. (see ruling below)

8.05 APPROVED RULING: In cases where a pitcher balks and throws wild, either to a base or to home plate, a runner or runners may advance beyond the base to which he is entitled at his own risk.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 29, 2013, 03:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
In the scenario described in the OP, it would be a balk under current MLB rules assuming the pitcher did not disengage before the feint to 3rd.

In FED a balk is an immediate dead ball but I dont think that is always true in MLB. (see ruling below)

8.05 APPROVED RULING: In cases where a pitcher balks and throws wild, either to a base or to home plate, a runner or runners may advance beyond the base to which he is entitled at his own risk.
It's hard to balk and throw wild when the balk you're being called for is not throwing at all.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 29, 2013, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
It's hard to balk and throw wild when the balk you're being called for is not throwing at all.
I'm sure you're right. I'm more familiar with FED at this time. But if the throw to 2nd (described in OP) rolls out to the CF fence, the offensive manager is going to wonder why R1 cannot advance to 3B based on my cited ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 29, 2013, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
I'm sure you're right. I'm more familiar with FED at this time. But if the throw to 2nd (described in OP) rolls out to the CF fence, the offensive manager is going to wonder why R1 cannot advance to 3B based on my cited ruling.
"Balks-and-throws-wild" is NOT the same as "balks, and THEN throws wild"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 29, 2013, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
I'm sure you're right. I'm more familiar with FED at this time. But if the throw to 2nd (described in OP) rolls out to the CF fence, the offensive manager is going to wonder why R1 cannot advance to 3B based on my cited ruling.
The balk happened when he failed to throw to third. The play is over at this point. The rest of the action never happened.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OBR rules question knuckler Baseball 3 Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:10pm
I have an ASA FP rules question. clueless Softball 6 Mon Mar 21, 2005 01:06pm
Rules Question SavaahnTy Basketball 30 Wed Oct 20, 2004 05:01pm
Rules Question stevesmith Lacrosse 8 Sat Mar 27, 2004 07:38am
Rules question #3...please help.... trippingants4134 Basketball 11 Tue Feb 26, 2002 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1