The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 29, 2013, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
In NCAA is the second appeal of the same runner considered multiple appeals?What if they just retrieved the errant ball and threw it to 3B?

That NCAA rule is confusing to me.

"(3) The defensive team receives only one chance on an appeal. In the case of multiple appeals, if the defense errs during its first appeal attempt or any base runner advances, the defense loses its right to appeal any runner at any base."

How would it apply during live action appeals of leaving early on a fly ball where 2 runners are appealed successively while, let's say R3 advances.
To "err" in OBR, the ball must be thrown out of play.

To "err" in NCAA, the ball must be overthrown (not necessarily out of play) and a runner must advance.

There's no "err" in FED appeals.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You can't advance a muff can you? bigjohn Football 12 Sun Sep 02, 2012 07:30am
When can a runner advance? Zoochy Baseball 15 Tue Jul 28, 2009 12:46pm
[ASA Co-Ed] No advance on IFR? Stat-Man Softball 12 Thu Jul 23, 2009 08:53am
Thanks in advance Y2Koach Basketball 8 Thu Oct 16, 2008 12:55pm
Can B1 advance? Robert G Baseball 2 Fri Jul 20, 2001 09:23am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1