The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 29, 2013, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
To "err" in OBR, the ball must be thrown out of play.

To "err" in NCAA, the ball must be overthrown (not necessarily out of play) and a runner must advance.

There's no "err" in FED appeals.
You got me digging in NCAA.

While the overthrow is an "err", in the OP it seems NCAA would not allow the appeal due to a runner advancing.

"(5) If the defensive team errs on an appeal play and the ball remains in liveball territory, the appeal will be allowed if:
(a) The ball immediately is returned to the base being appealed; and
(b) No runners advance on the misplay. If a runner(s) advances, no appeal
shall be allowed."

Also where do they specify that some of the 8-6-b provisions do not apply during unrelaxed action? It makes sense and I would not think of applying them during unrelaxed action but is it codified somewhere.

Last edited by umpjim; Wed May 29, 2013 at 10:42am. Reason: brainfart
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You can't advance a muff can you? bigjohn Football 12 Sun Sep 02, 2012 07:30am
When can a runner advance? Zoochy Baseball 15 Tue Jul 28, 2009 12:46pm
[ASA Co-Ed] No advance on IFR? Stat-Man Softball 12 Thu Jul 23, 2009 08:53am
Thanks in advance Y2Koach Basketball 8 Thu Oct 16, 2008 12:55pm
Can B1 advance? Robert G Baseball 2 Fri Jul 20, 2001 09:23am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1