View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 29, 2013, 10:01am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
In NCAA is the second appeal of the same runner considered multiple appeals?What if they just retrieved the errant ball and threw it to 3B?

That NCAA rule is confusing to me.

"(3) The defensive team receives only one chance on an appeal. In the case of multiple appeals, if the defense errs during its first appeal attempt or any base runner advances, the defense loses its right to appeal any runner at any base."

How would it apply during live action appeals of leaving early on a fly ball where 2 runners are appealed successively while, let's say R3 advances.
To "err" in OBR, the ball must be thrown out of play.

To "err" in NCAA, the ball must be overthrown (not necessarily out of play) and a runner must advance.

There's no "err" in FED appeals.
Reply With Quote