The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 22, 2013, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
It is impossible for both to be touching the base in this way and rule that one has passed the other.
Yes ... but Segura is no longer touching the bag about a half second after Braun was tagged. Had Braun not been tagged, he would have been "past Segura" about a half second later.

Quote:
7.01 comment - once the pitcher takes his position R2 has title to second base and can't return to first. He can't go from being an R2 to being an R1.
A quote that is not exactly a quote... and the part that is not exactly a quote is the part I would disagree with - you've inferred something and then included it in the quote.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 22, 2013, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
For the record:
Quote:
Originally Posted by OBR Rule 7.01
A runner acquires the right to an unoccupied base when he touches it before he is out. He is then entitled to it until he is put out, or forced to vacate it for another runner legally entitled to that base.
Rule 7.01 Comment: If a runner legally acquires title to a base, and the pitcher assumes his pitching position, the runner may not return to a previously occupied base.
First ... Comments are meant to explain the rules, and not augment or change them. Second - many who read this (including the site referenced above) believe this comment is not meant to apply once the pitcher steps off.

More fundamentally, though... the RULE does not state in any manner that the runner cannot, in the normal course of play (for instance, while avoiding a player trying to tag him) move backward beyond a base he is "entitled to". The comment leads one to believe he cannot do this with the ball on the mound. I don't see how one can apply this rule or comment to the OP.

(Further ... apparently neither does MLB!)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 22, 2013, 11:16am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Yes ... but Segura is no longer touching the bag about a half second after Braun was tagged. Had Braun not been tagged, he would have been "past Segura" about a half second later.

A quote that is not exactly a quote... and the part that is not exactly a quote is the part I would disagree with - you've inferred something and then included it in the quote.
I didn't quote anything.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safe or Out? MountieSB Softball 22 Tue Mar 06, 2012 11:56am
PU - Out. BU - Safe. Rich Baseball 3 Thu Jun 19, 2008 07:43am
OBS - Always safe? cshs81 Baseball 5 Thu Jun 28, 2007 07:42am
safe/out...again! chuckfan1 Baseball 4 Mon Dec 16, 2002 06:14pm
Safe or Out? HawkandDove3B Softball 7 Tue Jul 30, 2002 10:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1