Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
In both pro and HS (FED) rules running the bases in reverse order is only illegal if done to confuse the defense or to make a travesty. Neither was the case here.
If just running in reverse order was illegal you couldn't have a rundown.
|
True. But in this case, R2 started at second base on the pitch. He cannot legally return to first base when play is complete.
Of course, I'm assuming by "R1 and R2", he meant that R2 was the runner who started out at second base, and not at first base. That's how I understood it, based upon his description of what happened.
I'm not sure what the FED rule is, but in OBR, it's the Rule 7.01 Comment.