![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
6.2.4(d)1 is the exception to this balk. If F1 stops or hesitates his delivery this would be a balk if not for B stepping out of the box exception. This penalty is ONLY for causing the absolved balk (he hesitated/not continuous delivery) but he does deliver the delayed/hesitated pitch. One strike for stepping out of the box, one strike for causing an (absolved) balk. And I agree that this double penalty should be saved for the when you REALLY want to make a point. |
|
|||
|
I don't think so. One strike is for the pitch (called a strike regardless of location), the other is for violating 7-3-1 (delay of game).
|
|
|||
|
The batter needs to step out with BOTH feet in order for the umpire to call an automatic strike (6-2-4-D) If he steps out with one foot or holds up a hand asking for time and delivers a pitch it is a strike. If he steps out with only one foot or holds up his hand asking for time and the pitcher stops, it is a reset and no penalty on either the batter or hitter. Only way to have two strikes called is for the hitter to step out with BOTH feet. page 41 of NFHS rule book
|
|
|||
|
I disagree. From the way I read the rule, the batter must step completely out of the batter's box for an automatic strike to be called on the pitch. In your cases above, I'm calling the pitch the way it is.
|
|
|||
|
From page 41..."If the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live." This is referring to situations A, B, and C. Situation "A" is with runners on base and the batter steps out with one foot and the pitcher legally delivers a pitch to the batter.
|
|
|||
|
I have one strike for violating 7-3-1. If you have second strike and its not for violating 6-4-1(d) (no balk to absolve), what other rule violation do you have ?
|
|
|||
|
The 6-2-4-d-1 strike is not for absolving a balk, it is for the pitch. "...if the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live."
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
RB 6-2-4(d)1- starts off, If the pitcher with a runner on base stops or hesitates in his delivery because the batter steps out of the box... ...access a strike if hesitated pitch is delivered, no strike accessed if delivery is stopped, no balk in either case. But everything in 6-2-4(d)1 is predicated on a delivery that stops or hesitates . But CB 6.2.4I is not consistant with RB 6-2-4(d)1. In the CB a second penalty strike is accessed without any mention of any hesitated delivery (the only condition that I see in 6-2-4(d)1 for accessing a second strike). I don't understand where the CB gets it's justification for the second strike on a non-hestitatedly delivered pitch when B steps out of the box. If anyone can help me understand how CB 6.2.4I justifies the second strike, I'd appreciate it. Last edited by bluehair; Thu Mar 14, 2013 at 10:44pm. |
|
|||
|
It doesn't matter if he hesitates or not, only that if he does, it is not a balk. The strikes have nothing to do with the hesitation.
Here's my problem with the second strike: If the batter steps out with both feet, and F1 delivers a pitch (hesitated or not) I don't see how 7-3-1 could apply. The pitcher delivered the ball and it was called a strike. How did the batter delay the game? Last edited by dash_riprock; Fri Mar 15, 2013 at 12:35am. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| To Whom May Timeout Be Granted? | Freddy | Basketball | 13 | Wed Dec 29, 2010 07:23pm |
| Timeout Request Granted . . . When? | Freddy | Basketball | 11 | Sat Dec 26, 2009 06:33pm |
| Timeout granted! "WRONG" | MichiganOfficial | Basketball | 4 | Wed Jan 18, 2006 02:23pm |
| When is it Granted--time-out | som44 | Basketball | 7 | Thu Feb 19, 2004 08:55pm |
| Timeout Granted or not????? | jshock | Basketball | 3 | Thu Jan 13, 2000 03:52am |