The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 21, 2012, 11:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookie View Post
(Obviously, the word "errs" means something different in NCAA terminology than what it means in OBR.)
No, it means the same thing. If the defense throws the ball away and the runners advance no further appeals are allowed. If the offense causes the defense to make a play on a runner, the appeal is still allowed.
__________________
Tony Carilli
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 22, 2012, 12:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ulster County, NY
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcarilli View Post
No, it means the same thing. If the defense throws the ball away and the runners advance no further appeals are allowed. If the offense causes the defense to make a play on a runner, the appeal is still allowed.
The reason "errs" confuses me in NCAA terminology is that in OBR, it definitely means the ball was thrown into DBT, but if I read NCAA Rule 8.6.b (5), "errs" doesn't necessarily mean the ball going into DBT.

"NCAA 8.6.b (5): If the defensive team errs on an appeal play and the ball remains in live-ball territory, the appeal will be allowed if:
(a) The ball is immediately returned to the base being appealed; and
(b) No runners advance on the misplay..."


Obviously, "errs" in this situation does not mean the ball went out of play.

Getting back to the other part of my OP, in NCAA is the appeal of R2 permitted or not (regardless of whether it is upheld or not), even though the defense was wrong on R3?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 22, 2012, 12:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookie View Post
Getting back to the other part of my OP, in NCAA is the appeal of R2 permitted or not (regardless of whether it is upheld or not), even though the defense was wrong on R3?
The 2nd appeal would be permitted.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 22, 2012, 07:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookie View Post
The reason "errs" confuses me in NCAA terminology is that in OBR, it definitely means the ball was thrown into DBT, but if I read NCAA Rule 8.6.b (5), "errs" doesn't necessarily mean the ball going into DBT.

"NCAA 8.6.b (5): If the defensive team errs on an appeal play and the ball remains in live-ball territory, the appeal will be allowed if:
(a) The ball is immediately returned to the base being appealed; and
(b) No runners advance on the misplay..."


Obviously, "errs" in this situation does not mean the ball went out of play.

Getting back to the other part of my OP, in NCAA is the appeal of R2 permitted or not (regardless of whether it is upheld or not), even though the defense was wrong on R3?
Yes, err certainly does not mean is incorrect about leaving early.
__________________
Tony Carilli
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Appeal Play Ruling--NCAA Rules. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Baseball 23 Tue May 03, 2011 11:05am
NCAA Rule Question - Appeal Play Durham Baseball 19 Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:05pm
Appeal question.... schoony Baseball 8 Mon Apr 17, 2006 08:41am
Check Swing Appeal @ NCAA EMD Baseball 8 Mon Sep 19, 2005 07:16am
appeal question bethsdad Softball 5 Sat Jan 10, 2004 09:42am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1