The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2012, 06:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Check out 8-3-5. This is a special case where the runner leaves base early on a caught fly ball.

Last edited by BretMan; Wed Jul 18, 2012 at 07:04am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2012, 07:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 145
I agree with CT1. When the throw by the outfielder goes out of play it is two bases from TOT. See the Base Running Awrds Table.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2012, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
There is something missing from JR's play, and a significant difference between his play and lawump's.

JR's play says the runner was between 2nd and 3rd when the ball was THROWN. Lawumps says he was there when the ball went out of play.

His location when the ball was THROWN matters only with respect to what the award is. His location when the ball went out of play is missing from JR's play - but is critical in that it determines whether he can or cannot return all the way to first (legally). If he's returning, and has already retouched 2nd before the ball actually makes it out of play, he CAN retouch first base.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2012, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
There is something missing from JR's play, and a significant difference between his play and lawump's.

JR's play says the runner was between 2nd and 3rd when the ball was THROWN. Lawumps says he was there when the ball went out of play.

His location when the ball was THROWN matters only with respect to what the award is. His location when the ball went out of play is missing from JR's play - but is critical in that it determines whether he can or cannot return all the way to first (legally). If he's returning, and has already retouched 2nd before the ball actually makes it out of play, he CAN retouch first base.
Whether or not he can legally return depende on both the rules and the situation.

FED: If he is on/beyond the next base from his TOP base at ther time the ball went dead he cannot return.

OBR: No matter where he is, if he continues on after the ball went dead and touches whatever base is next, he cannot return, otherwise he may return.


As I understand the play at hand, the runner was beyond 2B when the ball went dead. In FED he cannot return to retouch 1B. In OBR he can if he doesn't touch 3B after it went dead.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2012, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Whether or not he can legally return depende on both the rules and the situation.

FED: If he is on/beyond the next base from his TOP base at ther time the ball went dead he cannot return.

OBR: No matter where he is, if he continues on after the ball went dead and touches whatever base is next, he cannot return, otherwise he may return.


As I understand the play at hand, the runner was beyond 2B when the ball went dead. In FED he cannot return to retouch 1B. In OBR he can if he doesn't touch 3B after it went dead.
This if from NFHS rule 8-3-5
"When a runner, who is returning to touch a base after a batted ball has been caught is prevented from doing so because a thrown live ball has become dead (5-1-1g), his award shall be from the base he occupied at the time of the pitch"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2012, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
As I understand the play at hand, the runner was beyond 2B when the ball went dead.
You quoted me, but missed the point entirely. No, in the play at hand, we are told where the runner is when the ball is THROWN, but no detail at all regarding where he was when the ball went out of play.

Quote:
In FED he cannot return to retouch 1B.
And that part is not always correct.

The correct rules were already stated. I was just clarifying the difference and missing info in the OP as compared with lawump's correct answer.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2012, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
You quoted me, but missed the point entirely. No, in the play at hand, we are told where the runner is when the ball is THROWN, but no detail at all regarding where he was when the ball went out of play.

And that part is not always correct.

The correct rules were already stated. I was just clarifying the difference and missing info in the OP as compared with lawump's correct answer.
My answers were correct given the assumption I made.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2012, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
My answers were correct given the assumption I made.
Given the assumption you said, it's still not always right.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
awarding bases ump50 Baseball 6 Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:41am
Awarding Bases rottiron01 Softball 14 Tue Jun 30, 2009 03:29pm
Awarding bases ump66 Baseball 8 Mon Apr 23, 2007 07:39am
Awarding of Bases brumey1107 Baseball 3 Mon Jun 09, 2003 02:06pm
Awarding of Bases STEVED21 Baseball 5 Tue Jul 09, 2002 10:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1