![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
My latest BRD ruling #12 says order of appeals on forced bases matter. It quotes FED back in 2003 and PBUC in 2000. My 2010 WUM says the order doesn't matter if the force existed at the time of miss. 8.4.1.c. in the WUM. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
HOWEVER, if R1 had missed 3rd base on his way to scoring and the appeals took place, then the order would matter. If the Defense starts the appeal with the BR missing 1st, then that would be the 2nd out (NOT the 3rd!), and then it appeals R1 missing 3rd base (upheld, 3rd out - not a force out). Therefore, R3's run counts. IF the Defense starts the appeal with R1 missing 3rd, then that's the 2nd out. Then it appeals the BR missing 1st base (upheld - thus the 3rd out). Therefore, R3's run does not count as the BR made the 3rd out before reaching 1st. PBUC follows the same format and I'm sure the same is true for FED (though I will start looking through the rule/case books starting with your citation 8.4.1.c). Edited: Your cite is from the WUM, not FED casebook. my mistake on that (as I have just read the Fed casebook 8.4.1 c and it has nothing to do with appeals!) Last edited by cookie; Tue Jun 12, 2012 at 04:28pm. Reason: Change R2 to R1 in the second and third paragraphs (if the situation is to make any sense) - my mistake |
|
|||
|
While the BRD cites Hopkins as saying that "When a force play situation is in effect, the appeals must be made in proper order.", the 2 plays given as examples are similar to your "However" play in that there is one miss of 1B and a non forced miss. The BRD rulings agree with what you say in this regard and the order does matter.
I probably read too much into the BRD Order of Appeals cite. Based on your JR and my WUM I agree with you that the order of appeals of multiple missed forced bases or forced and 1B does not matter. Probably the only change is my new comprehension of the matter. Last edited by umpjim; Tue Jun 12, 2012 at 02:29pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
|
|||
|
The outs will always be in order. Whether the force play was in effect when the appeal occurred was at question. Cookies post cleared this up for me. Could you post the unusual play?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
F7 misses ball. Runners take off from their base. Throw goes into F5 who touches base, and throws to F4 who also touches the base. But batter was out for abandonment first, which then took off the force. Tags must be applied for outs. I was somewhat lagging at HP looking for tag at 1B, and just happened to notice him over my shoulder. It was summer league ball, crappy game, and no biggie. Got a safe call at 3B, and out call at 2B. Led to some confusion, but it worked itself out in the end.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| End-Game Play Question | DadofTwins | Basketball | 1 | Tue Jan 06, 2009 01:05pm |
| A question on a play and a mechanics question. | aevans410 | Baseball | 11 | Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am |
| Game play | tpaul | Football | 8 | Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:04am |
| USC on last play of game | BigGref | Football | 11 | Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:07pm |
| Odd Play at my game | whiskers_ump | Softball | 7 | Sun Apr 18, 2004 01:01pm |