The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 07, 2012, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 48
Last Play of the Game Question

Tie game, bottom of the last inning. Bases loaded one out. Hit to the OF. Runner scores and batter tags first. Suppose the runners on first and second never touch second and third. As players are leaving, the defense tags second and third asking for a inning ending double play (after the runner scores and the batter tags first). What is the correct ruling?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 07, 2012, 08:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
OBR: appeal denied, game over.

FED: appeal granted, extra innings.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 07, 2012, 08:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 48
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 07, 2012, 08:54pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
OBR: appeal denied, game over.

FED: appeal granted, extra innings.
Why would this be denied OBR?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 07, 2012, 09:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 48
I think that it would be denied because of 4.09 (b):

When the winning run is scored in the last half-inning of a regulation game, or in the last half of an extra inning, as the result of a base on balls, hit batter or any other play with the bases full which forces the runner on third to advance, the umpire shall not declare the game ended until the runner forced to advance from third has touched home base and the batter-runner has touched first base.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 07, 2012, 09:11pm
Is this a legal title?
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 360
appeal at 2nd granted. appeal at 3rd denied; after the appeal at 2nd was granted, the force on R2 was removed and he was not obligated to advance. Game over.

If they had appealed in the proper order (3rd, then 2nd), they'd have had an inning-ending DP and extra innings.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 07, 2012, 09:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 48
good point about the order of the tags. For the sake of conversation, I meant to say that they tagged third and then second.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 07, 2012, 10:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 785
Why are these being called appeals? As somebody pointed out, if done in the proper order, they are simply force outs, aren't they?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2012, 04:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
Why would this be denied OBR?
It wouldn't.

Per JEA:
"If the winning run is forced in as the result of a batted ball, all runners including the batter-runner are obligated to touch their next bases. The BR must advance to and touch 1st base, and any other runner forced must advance to and touch his next base. If any such forced runner fails to do so, a force out appeal play is in order; and if it is sustained for the third out, no run shall count since the third out was, in effect, a force out. If this appeal force out is not the third out, the runner shall be declared out but the winning run scores."
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2012, 06:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
It wouldn't.

Per JEA:
"If the winning run is forced in as the result of a batted ball, all runners including the batter-runner are obligated to touch their next bases. The BR must advance to and touch 1st base, and any other runner forced must advance to and touch his next base. If any such forced runner fails to do so, a force out appeal play is in order; and if it is sustained for the third out, no run shall count since the third out was, in effect, a force out. If this appeal force out is not the third out, the runner shall be declared out but the winning run scores."
Not what 4.09b says.

Edited to add: also not the way MLB calls it, correctly, according to 4.09b. The video posted in post 14 is an example:
http://mlb.mlb.com/news/article.jsp?...rtnerId=rss_sd

That's a walk, not a batted ball, but the same rule applies (and is ruled the same).
__________________
Cheers,
mb

Last edited by mbyron; Fri Jun 08, 2012 at 06:53pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2012, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Not what 4.09b says.
If we did not have that interp then with bases loaded and 2 outs on a ground ball to let's say the SS, R1 and R2 could peel off cheering while the BR crosses 1B and R3 scored.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 07, 2012, 10:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
OBR: appeal denied, game over.

FED: appeal granted, extra innings.
Not disputing what you say, but do you have a rule cite for FED?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2012, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSUmp16 View Post
Not disputing what you say, but do you have a rule cite for FED?
My initial post was assuming that the out at 3B was recorded before the out at 2B, so that both were force outs. The OP later clarified that this is the play he intended to post.

2012 NFHS Baseball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 18: In the bottom of the eighth inning, the score is tied, with the bases loaded and two outs. B6 draws a walk and runs and touches first base. B1 [sic: should be R1] trots in from third and touches home plate. B2 [sic], however, begins celebrating and never touches third base. RULING: All runners must legally touch the next base in advancing. If the defense legally appeals while at least one umpire is still on the field of play, B2 is declared out for the third out. Since this out would be a “force” out, no runs would score and the game would continue into the ninth inning. (8-2-1, 8-2-6j, 9-1-1a and d)
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2012, 12:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 48
Thanks. I agree with you for NFHS. But I still think that the run counts in OBR.

Also, can you help me with some terminology. Are "Fed" rules = NFHS rules?

I am not an ump. Just a coach who learns a lot by reading this board.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2012, 12:42pm
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by starman View Post
Also, can you help me with some terminology. Are "Fed" rules = NFHS rules?

I am not an ump. Just a coach who learns a lot by reading this board.
Yep. We commonly refer to NFHS rules as "FED" here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
End-Game Play Question DadofTwins Basketball 1 Tue Jan 06, 2009 01:05pm
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
Game play tpaul Football 8 Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:04am
USC on last play of game BigGref Football 11 Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:07pm
Odd Play at my game whiskers_ump Softball 7 Sun Apr 18, 2004 01:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1