The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 22, 2012, 08:48am
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Strike?

R1 attempts to steal. Batter begins to "swing through" the pitch to distract the catcher, but the pitch is a pitch out - way out of the batter's reach - so he checks his swing. (Clearly) After the catcher has thrown the ball, the batter slowly swings the bat in frustration because he could not swing through to distract the catcher.
All of this description is my opinion, but the end result was the batter did not swing at or swing through the pitch in anything close to real time.

Strike? Can you get that one and if so, how would you justify it? At what point does a swing stop being called a strike?

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 22, 2012, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
He checked his swing and did not offer at the pitch. Nothing he does after that is an offer. Not a strike.

You know all this: did you get questions or complaints? I sense a story.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 22, 2012, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northwest suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ View Post
R1 attempts to steal. Batter begins to "swing through" the pitch to distract the catcher, but the pitch is a pitch out - way out of the batter's reach - so he checks his swing. (Clearly) After the catcher has thrown the ball, the batter slowly swings the bat in frustration because he could not swing through to distract the catcher.
All of this description is my opinion, but the end result was the batter did not swing at or swing through the pitch in anything close to real time.

Strike? Can you get that one and if so, how would you justify it? At what point does a swing stop being called a strike?

JJ
John, I don't see a strike, since the batter did not swing at a pitch - according to your description, he checked his swing. If this was an IHSA game, you could justify it through 7-2-1b: the batter did not strike at a pitch and miss, since he slowly swung the bat after the catcher had thrown the ball. We see batters practice swing all of the time after a pitch has been delivered and the catcher is returning it. No strike there.

I don't have interference either since his actions did not impede the defensive play.

I take it that you had a coach bite on the call. What happened?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 22, 2012, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
"Did he attempt to strike at the pitched ball?"

That's the only question you have to answer.

I had a kid completely whirl around, with him hugging the bat, on an inside pitch last night. (why? I don't know, but he was a kid). The bat made a hell of a trip, but there was no intent on the striking the ball. And that's the key.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 22, 2012, 12:21pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Internationally - Where There Is A Game to Call!
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ View Post
R1 attempts to steal. Batter begins to "swing through" the pitch to distract the catcher, but the pitch is a pitch out - way out of the batter's reach - so he checks his swing. (Clearly) After the catcher has thrown the ball, the batter slowly swings the bat in frustration because he could not swing through to distract the catcher.
All of this description is my opinion, but the end result was the batter did not swing at or swing through the pitch in anything close to real time.

Strike? Can you get that one and if so, how would you justify it? At what point does a swing stop being called a strike?

JJ
No strike here, JJ by definition of the term "check swing". Since the catcher has released the baseball, your batter is legal.

Hope everyone had a great time at your game!
__________________
Trained by the best! Haven't missed one yet! As good as any, better than the rest!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 23, 2012, 10:09pm
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
I was the PU. Told the coach (whose catcher easily threw out the runner and who was fishing for the strike as well) that the batter didn't offer at the pitch. He asked for, and got, a request to ask for help. "No swing" was the answer. He still wanted to discuss it, and was told one more time "He didn't offer at the pitch". After that it was "No more discussion on balls and strikes"....but it did look odd, which was why it was questioned in the first place. First time I've ever seen it in 30 years of work....

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2012, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
It's a funny game.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
strike/called 3rd strike calls chuckfan1 Baseball 8 Tue May 11, 2010 12:44pm
Swinging Strike + Hit Batter + Dropped 3rd Strike bfoster Baseball 19 Sun May 17, 2009 08:30pm
Automatic Strike/Penalty Strike NFHS Blue37 Baseball 19 Tue Feb 27, 2007 02:29pm
When the strike is over BlueLawyer Baseball 15 Fri May 19, 2006 08:28pm
Was it a strike? DKDsMom Softball 56 Thu May 11, 2006 08:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1