![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
touched first. The little matter of the 5-4 force negated the run and forces are not timing plays. If the (next) base or the runner (R1 or R2) is tagged before the runner touches the base, it is a force out. If it is the third out, no runs score. In the OP where R2 abandoned his attempt to advance to third he could "theoretically" be put out on appeal, but the run counted and the game ended before the appeal could be made. In Merkle's Boner there were runners on first and third and Merkle did not advance to and touch second after an apparent game winning hit. Would it make any sense that the situation would be any different just because the bases were loaded?? Last edited by Larry1953; Sun Sep 11, 2011 at 07:34pm. |
|
|||
Another play covered by 4.09(b) would be catcher's interference. Same mechanics as a walk or HBP.
But, say it was an uncaught third strike. You could retire R1 or R2 if for some reason they did not touch the next base by a force out mechanic. Or take this situation. Grounder to third toward short. R2 stops so as not to be tagged. F5's throw goes over head of F4 into RF. R2 thinks the winning run scored and exuberantly races to the plate to join the celebration without touching third. He can still be forced out at third to negate the apparent winning run. Last edited by Larry1953; Sun Sep 11, 2011 at 08:02pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
Why would 4.09(a) not ALWAYS apply? (a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases. Last edited by Larry1953; Sun Sep 11, 2011 at 08:48pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by umpjong; Sun Sep 11, 2011 at 09:40pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
OK...4.09(b)...."or any other play with the bases full which forces the runner on third to advance..." Fine, the batter hits a towering fly to the gap warning track deep. Is this "a play"? Yes. Does it force R3 to advance? Yes. Does R3 cross the plate and B/R reach first before the catch is made? Easily done, it was hit that deep. Then, according to rule 4.09(b) the run counts and the game is over. Well, we all know that is wrong because of the way the third out was made. It is the SAME thing if the third out is made by a force (at any base). Last edited by Larry1953; Sun Sep 11, 2011 at 10:59pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 Last edited by SanDiegoSteve; Sun Sep 11, 2011 at 08:07pm. |
|
|||
Since this is the only open thread right now...
...to Bob Jenkins RE: Last entry in recently closed thread...ROTFLMAO!!! Great post!
![]()
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
Quote:
Read 4.09(b) closely...it says the game is not over UNTIL.... Not WHEN. That rule is not meant to absolve the offense of being in jeopardy of force outs just because the bases are loaded. It says that B/R and R3 have to go through the motion of advancing to and touching the base. Just like a B/R has to touch all the bases after a HR and the pitcher (in OBR) has to throw the pitches for an IBB. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
Quote:
Also, say Tony was the batter and he wanted to celebrate rather than going down to first. So the first base coach picks him up off the pile and directs him to first. Would it be an out for coach's assistance negating the run? |
|
|||
Yes, it would be an out, but not if another player picked him up and carried him to first. That would be legal.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Come backs for Coaches | MidMadness | Basketball | 26 | Sat Sep 06, 2008 04:08pm |
Camel Backs??? | PanamaCityBrian | Baseball | 20 | Sat Jun 03, 2006 10:59pm |
Padres vs Rockies 4-18-06 | jwwashburn | Baseball | 8 | Wed Apr 19, 2006 10:49am |
Motioning of Backs. | J.Thurman | Football | 8 | Tue Jul 29, 2003 10:40am |
Looking at Backs | rainmaker | Basketball | 45 | Tue Sep 03, 2002 09:54am |