![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Isn't that the Merkle play?
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Yes it is the Merkle play. The rule is different for a walk-off walk or HBP. If the ball is hit, the "force is on" and being a forced third out would negate the run.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
touched first. The little matter of the 5-4 force negated the run and forces are not timing plays. If the (next) base or the runner (R1 or R2) is tagged before the runner touches the base, it is a force out. If it is the third out, no runs score. In the OP where R2 abandoned his attempt to advance to third he could "theoretically" be put out on appeal, but the run counted and the game ended before the appeal could be made. In Merkle's Boner there were runners on first and third and Merkle did not advance to and touch second after an apparent game winning hit. Would it make any sense that the situation would be any different just because the bases were loaded?? Last edited by Larry1953; Sun Sep 11, 2011 at 07:34pm. |
|
|||
Another play covered by 4.09(b) would be catcher's interference. Same mechanics as a walk or HBP.
But, say it was an uncaught third strike. You could retire R1 or R2 if for some reason they did not touch the next base by a force out mechanic. Or take this situation. Grounder to third toward short. R2 stops so as not to be tagged. F5's throw goes over head of F4 into RF. R2 thinks the winning run scored and exuberantly races to the plate to join the celebration without touching third. He can still be forced out at third to negate the apparent winning run. Last edited by Larry1953; Sun Sep 11, 2011 at 08:02pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
Why would 4.09(a) not ALWAYS apply? (a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases. Last edited by Larry1953; Sun Sep 11, 2011 at 08:48pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 Last edited by SanDiegoSteve; Sun Sep 11, 2011 at 08:07pm. |
|
|||
Since this is the only open thread right now...
...to Bob Jenkins RE: Last entry in recently closed thread...ROTFLMAO!!! Great post!
![]()
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
Quote:
Read 4.09(b) closely...it says the game is not over UNTIL.... Not WHEN. That rule is not meant to absolve the offense of being in jeopardy of force outs just because the bases are loaded. It says that B/R and R3 have to go through the motion of advancing to and touching the base. Just like a B/R has to touch all the bases after a HR and the pitcher (in OBR) has to throw the pitches for an IBB. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Come backs for Coaches | MidMadness | Basketball | 26 | Sat Sep 06, 2008 04:08pm |
Camel Backs??? | PanamaCityBrian | Baseball | 20 | Sat Jun 03, 2006 10:59pm |
Padres vs Rockies 4-18-06 | jwwashburn | Baseball | 8 | Wed Apr 19, 2006 10:49am |
Motioning of Backs. | J.Thurman | Football | 8 | Tue Jul 29, 2003 10:40am |
Looking at Backs | rainmaker | Basketball | 45 | Tue Sep 03, 2002 09:54am |