![]() |
|
|||
quote: Bob: This is one of those answers where "opinions" don't count. The FED rule and interpretation for many years has been that when all play is over, he shall call time and declare out any runners guilty of baserunning infractions. R2 scores, misses the plate, B1 stops at first, and the ball comes back into the infield. Unless R2 is headed back for the plate, the umpire doesn't care where he is. He could picking up a bat, bragging to the on-deck hitter about how easily he scored, or drinking Gatorade in the dugout. When all play stops, he's out in FED rules. Now, we enter the realm of "opinion" here. (Since it's my opinion, it's authoritative. (grin) Let's assume that B1 gets trapped in a rundown between first and second, and the coach signals to B1 to return to touch the plate. Like the OBR, there is no FED rule that prevents the runner from returning from the dugout. If there is continuing play, I suggest he could return to the plate, even from the dugout. FED is silent, and by analogy we use the OBR rule or interpretation in that instance. ------------------ Papa C Editor, eUmpire |
| Bookmarks |
|
|