The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 13, 2011, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Failure to Retouch Appeal

Baseball Video Highlights & Clips | Must C Curious: Mets score a run on umps' ruling - Video | MLB.com: Multimedia

How many appeals were made and does the order matter?
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Mon Jun 13, 2011 at 02:22pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 13, 2011, 02:29pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
One.

(rendering the second question unnecessary). I can't even fathom what is indicating to you that there might have been more than 1 appeal. There's only 1 thing to appeal here.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 13, 2011, 02:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
In this case doesn't matter as long as R3 was never ruled out. Time play run scores. Good call even though he may never have touched 2nd in the first place, he passed it, and therefore much retouch on his last time by.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 13, 2011, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 32
And on the time play, this run score because R3 crosses the plate before R1 touches first for the last time, correct? If R1 had retouched 1st before R3 crosses home, the run would not have counted. Just making sure!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 13, 2011, 02:59pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by treydawgmt View Post
And on the time play, this run score because R3 crosses the plate before R1 touches first for the last time, correct? If R1 had retouched 1st before R3 crosses home, the run would not have counted. Just making sure!
No, the time aspect is the run scoring before the appeal at second was executed.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 13, 2011, 03:01pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by treydawgmt View Post
And on the time play, this run score because R3 crosses the plate before R1 touches first for the last time, correct? If R1 had retouched 1st before R3 crosses home, the run would not have counted. Just making sure!
Incorrect.

On a timing play, the out occurs when the out occurs. When or where R1 / R3 were with respect to each other is immaterial. Where R3 was when R1 was appealed and called out is what matters.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 13, 2011, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Although I never want to support SAump in any way at any time I can see where his question comes from. It appears just after the run scores that the catcher looks like he throws the ball to FIRST BASE. Now we have no idea if they tried to appeal pagan at first or not . . . but I can see where the question came from.

I feel like a I need a long shower.

T
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 13, 2011, 04:17pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C View Post
Although I never want to support SAump in any way at any time I can see where his question comes from. It appears just after the run scores that the catcher looks like he throws the ball to FIRST BASE. Now we have no idea if they tried to appeal pagan at first or not . . . but I can see where the question came from.

I feel like a I need a long shower.

T
SO sorry. I know how that feels ... not with SA, but with others.

They threw to first because that's where Pagan was standing - at which point they tagged him, pointing at 2nd. Never saw on camera which umpire actually made the out call - but I'm assuming U2, especially since that's who Pagan went to discuss the call with between innings.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 13, 2011, 06:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Neighborhood Play?

I posted the video here showing that Pagan did not pass 2nd base. The runner's actions contribute to the ruling that he failed to retouch 2B before going back to 1B. The Pirates benefit from the ruling.

JR pg 72 EG: R1, one out, hit and run. A fly is batted to left-center field and the ball is caught. R1 touches second while advancing past it, but misses second while returning to first: an appeal of second base is upheld, R1 is out.
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Mon Jun 13, 2011 at 10:23pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 13, 2011, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
SO sorry. I know how that feels ... not with SA, but with others.

They threw to first because that's where Pagan was standing - at which point they tagged him, pointing at 2nd. Never saw on camera which umpire actually made the out call - but I'm assuming U2, especially since that's who Pagan went to discuss the call with between innings.
The box score has the out as 8-2-3-6, so F3 threw the ball to F6 at 2B for U2 to rule on the appeal.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 13, 2011, 10:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Intervening Play?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
This situation happened 2 years ago in a MLB game. The refs made a phone call to NY. The run was added back an inning or 2 later.

The run should never never come off the board, without approval from NY's instant replay and local MLB supervisors.

This has to stop.
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Mon Jun 13, 2011 at 10:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 13, 2011, 11:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
This situation happened 2 years ago in a MLB game. The refs made a phone call to NY. The run was added back an inning or 2 later.

The run should never never come off the board, without approval from NY's instant replay and local MLB supervisors.

This has to stop.
Huh?!?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 14, 2011, 12:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 769
Send a message via AIM to yawetag Send a message via Yahoo to yawetag
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
refs
Umpires.
__________________
Andrew Senger
MSHSAA Certified Baseball Umpire
"In the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. He's also postmaster and probably traffic cop, too. All the jobs for sports referees are probably filled, though." --Lemel Hebert-Williams
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 14, 2011, 07:38am
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
This situation happened 2 years ago in a MLB game. The refs made a phone call to NY. The run was added back an inning or 2 later.

The run should never never come off the board, without approval from NY's instant replay and local MLB supervisors.

This has to stop.
What in the world are you talking about? I now find myself in Tim's camp. File SAump under Fanboy.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 14, 2011, 07:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
This situation happened 2 years ago in a MLB game.
Get
Over
It
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Failure to Slide Rufus Baseball 41 Wed Apr 02, 2008 11:43pm
Reds vs. Pirates..appeal play rbmartin Baseball 4 Sat Sep 01, 2007 02:41am
Illegal slide into Pirates' F6 SAump Baseball 8 Wed Aug 29, 2007 01:07am
Cards-Mets, 8/8 - Failure to retouch bigwes68 Baseball 2 Tue Aug 10, 2004 07:49am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1