The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Mar 26, 2008, 08:31am
Official Forum Member

Failure to Slide

Well, it didn't take too long. Our first game of the season and one of my best players got picked off 3rd, ran to home, was thrown out, then ran into the catcher (not a violent contact - they both stayed on their feet - but their bodies did collide). Home umpire called him out on the tag then ejected him from the game for not sliding.

First of all, as a coach I take the responsibility for not having taught the team that you have to slide if a tag is imminent (we're playing under USSSA rules). Having sad that I read the rule about sliding and it said that if the contact is malicious that is supersedes obstruction and that the runner may be ejected on the umpire's discretion. In the comment it says that umpire should judge the runner's intent. In our case the runner did not "load" up and barrel into the catcher and both remained on their feet after the contact.

This is a judgment call, obviously, as well as a rules interpretation. It was still frustrating though and the player took it hard (that's how I'm sure it wasn't malicious - he'd have been celebrating the hit and protesting the ejection if it was - neither of which occurred). I'm going through the rules now and will try to bring out similar nuggets for the players to use going forward.

My ask from you all is if there are any other USSSA specific rules that you are aware of that would be good to pass on to an 11U team? In other words, what are some of the common rule gaffes you've seen players make as they move up (or just in general)? The rule book, as you know, is long and open to interpretation, and my time with them is short so I would appreciate any assistance you could offer.
Old Wed Mar 26, 2008, 09:10am
Stop staring at me swan.