![]() |
|
|
|||
![]()
Rufus,
In FED it's "live ball, play the bounce". Under OBR, the ball is dead, the R1 is out, the BR is awarded 1B, and the R3 is back on 3B. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Nothing to add rule-wise. For future reference, Runners do not change their designations during a play, and batter becomes BR, but remains BR during the play. Things get a mite confusing if you change their designations every time they advance. So, "R1 has become R2" should just be "R1 has reached 2nd base"... they are still R1 until your play is over.
Just a little nit.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Thanks for this. I'm looking at an (older) copy of OBR 7.08 and found this: Any runner is out when—He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out; Since in my situation R1 was hit after it passed the drawn-in infielders would he still be out under OBR? Not trying to abush, just trying to understand. Thanks. MBCrowder - noted and thanks for the clarification |
|
|||
Quote:
but, if the ball goes between the two fielders, then the runner can see the ball and is expected to avoid it. |
|
|||
New one on me. You mean I am supposed to judge something other than whether the ball passed infielders and they had their chance? You think I should judge that R1 should have seen the ball and avoided and because he did not ball is dead and he is out?
|
|
|||
For OBR, you must judge if the ball was within "a step and a reach" of a fielder. If so, then the runner is protected. If not, then not.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
I think that's for whether a fielder is protected after bobbling the ball, not for whether the ball wen "past" him.
|
|
|||
Quote:
You only have to judge if it passed through or in immediate reach of the fielder.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
OK, infield is drawn in on the grass, and batted ball hits runner in the dirt, no chance for any infielder to have a chance because all are in the grass. Runner did not run into it intentionally. What is call?
|
|
|||
Very similar to what Evans teaches. He turns it around and puts the emphasis on when it's the runners obligation to avoid the ball.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Every official's dream | Scrapper1 | Basketball | 16 | Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:27am |
If this wasn't a dream... | Stat-Man | Basketball | 10 | Sat Jun 24, 2006 09:05pm |
Unfortunately NOT a Bad Dream | rainmaker | Basketball | 20 | Wed Dec 24, 2003 03:22pm |
3-man Dream Crew | James Neil | Football | 13 | Thu Aug 14, 2003 09:05pm |
Weird Dream | Oz Referee | Basketball | 13 | Sun Jun 30, 2002 06:15pm |