The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2011, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 466
It came to me in a dream

No, really. This didn't actually happen in a game but I did dream it and want to be sure I get it right in case it actually happens one day.

As a reminder, I coach 12U travel baseball and play under a mish-mash of rules depending on the weekend tournament we're playing in.

Situation is R1 and R3 with infield drawn inside the baseline to try and cut down R3 at home. R1 is stealing with the pitch and the BR hits a line shot that hits R1 as they're running toward 2B. Ball rebounds off R1 but by the time F4 picks it up R1 is now R2, BR is R1, and R3 has scored. This is where I woke up.

In reading Fed 8-4K is says:

Runner is out when is contacted by a fair batted ball before it touches an infielder, or after it passes any infielder, except the pitcher, and the umpire is convinced that another infielder has a play.

Since no other infielder had a play (they were playing in and the ball struck R1 behind them) and it passed an infielder would this be a play on?

Yes, I'm also aware I need to find other activities to liven up my dream-world. Right now this is what I'm dealing with however!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2011, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
No, really. This didn't actually happen in a game but I did dream it and want to be sure I get it right in case it actually happens one day.

As a reminder, I coach 12U travel baseball and play under a mish-mash of rules depending on the weekend tournament we're playing in.

Situation is R1 and R3 with infield drawn inside the baseline to try and cut down R3 at home. R1 is stealing with the pitch and the BR hits a line shot that hits R1 as they're running toward 2B. Ball rebounds off R1 but by the time F4 picks it up R1 is now R2, BR is R1, and R3 has scored. This is where I woke up.

In reading Fed 8-4K is says:

Runner is out when is contacted by a fair batted ball before it touches an infielder, or after it passes any infielder, except the pitcher, and the umpire is convinced that another infielder has a play.

Since no other infielder had a play (they were playing in and the ball struck R1 behind them) and it passed an infielder would this be a play on?

Yes, I'm also aware I need to find other activities to liven up my dream-world. Right now this is what I'm dealing with however!
Play on. Or more than likely, fix my partner's brain fart because he kills the play

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2011, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
I suggest that you eat more pizza and drink more beer before bed so you dream of more important things - like BEER!
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2011, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Rufus,

In FED it's "live ball, play the bounce".

Under OBR, the ball is dead, the R1 is out, the BR is awarded 1B, and the R3 is back on 3B.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2011, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,205
What JM said . . .
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2011, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
What JM said . . .
Yep -- and NCAA is the same as FED, here.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2011, 12:09pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Nothing to add rule-wise. For future reference, Runners do not change their designations during a play, and batter becomes BR, but remains BR during the play. Things get a mite confusing if you change their designations every time they advance. So, "R1 has become R2" should just be "R1 has reached 2nd base"... they are still R1 until your play is over.

Just a little nit.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2011, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
Rufus,

In FED it's "live ball, play the bounce".

Under OBR, the ball is dead, the R1 is out, the BR is awarded 1B, and the R3 is back on 3B.

JM
JM
Thanks for this. I'm looking at an (older) copy of OBR 7.08 and found this:

Any runner is out when—He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out;

Since in my situation R1 was hit after it passed the drawn-in infielders would he still be out under OBR? Not trying to abush, just trying to understand. Thanks.

MBCrowder - noted and thanks for the clarification
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2011, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
JM
Thanks for this. I'm looking at an (older) copy of OBR 7.08 and found this:

Any runner is out when—He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out;

Since in my situation R1 was hit after it passed the drawn-in infielders would he still be out under OBR? Not trying to abush, just trying to understand. Thanks.

MBCrowder - noted and thanks for the clarification
"passed an infielder" in this instance means "goes immediately by or through the infielder." IOW, if the runner could reasonably expect the fielder to make a play, he's not out just because the fielder didn't and the runner was (nearly) directly behind the fielder.

but, if the ball goes between the two fielders, then the runner can see the ball and is expected to avoid it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2011, 04:56pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
New one on me. You mean I am supposed to judge something other than whether the ball passed infielders and they had their chance? You think I should judge that R1 should have seen the ball and avoided and because he did not ball is dead and he is out?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2011, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
New one on me. You mean I am supposed to judge something other than whether the ball passed infielders and they had their chance? You think I should judge that R1 should have seen the ball and avoided and because he did not ball is dead and he is out?
For OBR, you must judge if the ball was within "a step and a reach" of a fielder. If so, then the runner is protected. If not, then not.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2011, 07:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
New one on me. You mean I am supposed to judge something other than whether the ball passed infielders and they had their chance? You think I should judge that R1 should have seen the ball and avoided and because he did not ball is dead and he is out?
You missed the point. The theory is that the runner has a reasonable expectation that the fielder will make a play so he need not be expected to avoid the ball. Anytime else, he must avoid the ball.

You only have to judge if it passed through or in immediate reach of the fielder.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2011, 07:29pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
OK, infield is drawn in on the grass, and batted ball hits runner in the dirt, no chance for any infielder to have a chance because all are in the grass. Runner did not run into it intentionally. What is call?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2011, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
The theory is that the runner has a reasonable expectation that the fielder will make a play so he need not be expected to avoid the ball. Anytime else, he must avoid the ball.

You only have to judge if it passed through or in immediate reach of the fielder.
Very similar to what Evans teaches. He turns it around and puts the emphasis on when it's the runners obligation to avoid the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2011, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
For OBR, you must judge if the ball was within "a step and a reach" of a fielder. If so, then the runner is protected. If not, then not.
I think that's for whether a fielder is protected after bobbling the ball, not for whether the ball wen "past" him.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Every official's dream Scrapper1 Basketball 16 Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:27am
If this wasn't a dream... Stat-Man Basketball 10 Sat Jun 24, 2006 09:05pm
Unfortunately NOT a Bad Dream rainmaker Basketball 20 Wed Dec 24, 2003 03:22pm
3-man Dream Crew James Neil Football 13 Thu Aug 14, 2003 09:05pm
Weird Dream Oz Referee Basketball 13 Sun Jun 30, 2002 06:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1