The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 12, 2011, 07:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Clearly in FED, UmpJM has the correct answer. A similar question was on the FED Part 1 exam this year.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 12, 2011, 07:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
He is also correct concerning OBR and NCAA.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 12, 2011, 07:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

UmpTT,

I've always preferred the "cleaner language" of the NCAA rule:

Quote:
(2) If the improper batter becomes a base runner or is put out and an appeal is made to the umpire-in-chief before a pitch to the next
batter of either team, or a play or attempted play, the proper batter is
declared out and all runners return to bases held before action by the
improper batter. ...
It plainly state that the improper batter completing his at bat is what matters, and does not even indirectly suggest the umpire tread the slippery slope of causality.

I believe the OBR rule "means" the same thing, but I can't prove it.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 12, 2011, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
You can delineate your assertion through their ambiguous verbiage.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 12, 2011, 08:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Ok, we have managed to use a lot of words here and I am somewhat confused. I have R2's advance during Charles at bat, (the fact that the wild pitch was ball four is irrelavant) being attributed as a result of the wild pitch. Therefore R2 would remain at third in accordance with Fed 7-1-1 last sentence of paragraph on pg 42. Fed only. Sit.1 of the original op.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 12, 2011, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
Ok, we have managed to use a lot of words here and I am somewhat confused. I have R2's advance during Charles at bat, (the fact that the wild pitch was ball four is irrelavant) being attributed as a result of the wild pitch. Therefore R2 would remain at third in accordance with Fed 7-1-1 last sentence of paragraph on pg 42. Fed only. Sit.1 of the original op.
jicecone,

According to the OP, the R2 did NOT advance during the improper batter's at bat.

He advanced after the improper batter had completed his at bat and had become a runner.

Yes, on that point, I am absolutely "certain sure".

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 12, 2011, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
jicecone,

According to the OP, the R2 did NOT advance during the improper batter's at bat.

He advanced after the improper batter had completed his at bat and had become a runner.

Yes, on that point, I am absolutely "certain sure".

JM
OK, I understand where your coming from. Not convinced yet either way, wether I agree or disagree because of the very fine line here but, I understand.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 12, 2011, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The worlds of H.S., JUCCO, D3 - D1 baseball.
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
jicecone,

According to the OP, the R2 did NOT advance during the improper batter's at bat.

He advanced after the improper batter had completed his at bat and had become a runner.

Yes, on that point, I am absolutely "certain sure".

JM

I think "while he is at bat" is being taken too literally. I interpret this as a reference to when a runner advances because the IB is awarded a base or advances the runners on a batted ball. Literally - the runner should be returned. By interpretation - he does not.

That this is R2 advancing on a passed ball his advancement stands. If I am the umpire - I am not returning him. The IB did not advance him.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Continuous action? umpjim Baseball 29 Sat Nov 07, 2009 08:25pm
Continuous motion? Scrapper1 Basketball 19 Wed Oct 01, 2008 07:18pm
"Continuous Action"? Yeggman Softball 6 Wed Dec 14, 2005 08:52am
Continuous Motion ronny mulkey Basketball 20 Sun Dec 28, 2003 03:01pm
continuous motion Ralph Stubenthal Basketball 1 Thu Nov 01, 2001 09:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1