The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 28, 2011, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
David,

I'm not Bob, but yes, it would.

While there is no FED language covering this situation at 1B, there is at Home plate. (8.2.2M(b) ) This establishes the principle that if the runner is "actively" returning to the base he missed, the runner (rather than the base) must be tagged in order for the umpire to sustain the appeal.

There is corresponding language in the text of the OBR rules establishing this principle at home (7.10 whichever of a, b, c, d addresses a runner missing home - don't recall off the top of my head), but, again, nothing specific to a BR overrunning and missing 1B.

The J/R is the only "authoritative" source of which I am aware that explicitly states that the principle would apply to a BR overrunning and missing 1B.

JM
Thanks JM. You are not Bob but just about the next best thing!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1