The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 24, 2011, 11:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Well, Rita?

Did you win the bet?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 25, 2011, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
What is required if both the 1st baseman and the runner realize the base was missed, does it require a tag of the runner while off the base or the base while the runner is off the base?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 25, 2011, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
What is required if both the 1st baseman and the runner realize the base was missed, does it require a tag of the runner while off the base or the base while the runner is off the base?
I think FED specifically says that if the runner is trying to return, then the runner must be tagged. In this case, I'd apply that only if the runner is "actively" trying to get to the base. If he's just strolling back as after most overruns of first, I'd allow the base to be tagged.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 25, 2011, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The worlds of H.S., JUCCO, D3 - D1 baseball.
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think FED specifically says that if the runner is trying to return, then the runner must be tagged. In this case, I'd apply that only if the runner is "actively" trying to get to the base. If he's just strolling back as after most overruns of first, I'd allow the base to be tagged.
If that's written I see what you are getting at. An unwritten speed-up rule.

Seems odd the FED would make such a distinction. If they do I wonder what is the purpose? I'm thinking get the out either way if the appeal was proper - bag or runner.

FED appeals are pretty lax...

8-2-5 Penalty (Art 1 - 5) "A live ball appeal may be made by a coach or any defensive player with the ball in his possession by tagging the runner or touching the base that was missed or left too early".

We can get it from a verbal appeal shouted from the dugout...we can get it if they tag the base.

Does that help muddy the winner of the bet?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 25, 2011, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
Bob would that be the same in OBR?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 25, 2011, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
Bob would that be the same in OBR?
David,

I'm not Bob, but yes, it would.

While there is no FED language covering this situation at 1B, there is at Home plate. (8.2.2M(b) ) This establishes the principle that if the runner is "actively" returning to the base he missed, the runner (rather than the base) must be tagged in order for the umpire to sustain the appeal.

There is corresponding language in the text of the OBR rules establishing this principle at home (7.10 whichever of a, b, c, d addresses a runner missing home - don't recall off the top of my head), but, again, nothing specific to a BR overrunning and missing 1B.

The J/R is the only "authoritative" source of which I am aware that explicitly states that the principle would apply to a BR overrunning and missing 1B.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 28, 2011, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
David,

I'm not Bob, but yes, it would.

While there is no FED language covering this situation at 1B, there is at Home plate. (8.2.2M(b) ) This establishes the principle that if the runner is "actively" returning to the base he missed, the runner (rather than the base) must be tagged in order for the umpire to sustain the appeal.

There is corresponding language in the text of the OBR rules establishing this principle at home (7.10 whichever of a, b, c, d addresses a runner missing home - don't recall off the top of my head), but, again, nothing specific to a BR overrunning and missing 1B.

The J/R is the only "authoritative" source of which I am aware that explicitly states that the principle would apply to a BR overrunning and missing 1B.

JM
Thanks JM. You are not Bob but just about the next best thing!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 25, 2011, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Viverito View Post
If that's written I see what you are getting at. An unwritten speed-up rule.

Seems odd the FED would make such a distinction. If they do I wonder what is the purpose? I'm thinking get the out either way if the appeal was proper - bag or runner.

FED appeals are pretty lax...

8-2-5 Penalty (Art 1 - 5) "A live ball appeal may be made by a coach or any defensive player with the ball in his possession by tagging the runner or touching the base that was missed or left too early".

We can get it from a verbal appeal shouted from the dugout...we can get it if they tag the base.

Does that help muddy the winner of the bet?
Chris,

That's not what MY rule book says.

Where did you get yours?

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 25, 2011, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The worlds of H.S., JUCCO, D3 - D1 baseball.
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
Chris,

That's not what MY rule book says.

Where did you get yours?

JM
From the IHSA. Pg. 46.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 25, 2011, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Viverito View Post
From the IHSA. Pg. 46.
Chris,

Are you sure?

In mine there is no sentence that starts with:

Quote:
A live ball appeal may be made by a coach....
Not on page 46 or anywhere else in the whole freakin' book! (Nor the Case Book, for that matter).

I suspect that is because a Coach cannot make a live ball appeal (of a baserunning infraction, of course) under FED rules.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 28, 2011, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUmpire View Post
Did you win the bet?
Oh yeah.

Rita
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1