The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2011, 08:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
Fed rules.

R2 and 2 outs.

Batter hits a clean base hit to LF. The R2 attempts to score. F7 fields the ball and makes a good throw home. F2 is set up in a blocking position on the 3B line. He has to "reach" for the throw to the 1B side of home plate, but "gloves" the throw before the R2 arrives. As he brings his mitt to a tagging position, the ball slips out of his mitt, the runner slides into him and is blocked from the plate. He immediately retrieves the ball without having to change his position and tags the runner before he can touch the plate.

What's your call and why?

JM
I would have to call OBS on this play (I think). Once he drops the ball he does not have possession and thus he has no right to block the players from the base.

But, if F2 left room for the runner to get to the plate and the runner still runs into him, I might be inclined to go with the out. That's why I say I think.

I'm not going to reward a dumb R2.

Thanks
David
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2011, 09:17pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
Fed rules.

As he brings his mitt to a tagging position, the ball slips out of his mitt, the runner slides into him and is blocked from the plate. He immediately retrieves the ball without having to change his position and tags the runner before he can touch the plate.

What's your call and why?

JM
Obstruction. Catcher did not have the ball when runner slides into him and is denied access to the plate.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 19, 2011, 12:21am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 244
Let's break this down as best we can on an Internet forum. Here are the salient points put to us.
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
Fed rules. R2
Base hit to LF. The R2 attempts to score. F7 fields the ball and makes a throw home. F2 is set up in a blocking position....
Answer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeStrybel View Post
In 2011, the fielder must have possession of the ball before blocking a base that a runner is heading towards.
Truth is simple.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fed obstruction VS ASA "new" obstruction DaveASA/FED Softball 6 Thu Apr 29, 2004 03:27pm
obstruction scyguy Baseball 7 Wed Apr 21, 2004 09:11pm
NSA / Obstruction Bandit Softball 4 Mon Apr 19, 2004 02:26pm
Is it obstruction or not? JRSooner Baseball 2 Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:26pm
Obstruction or an out? Rachel Softball 6 Mon Apr 14, 2003 04:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1