The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 06:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Foul Tip

Es: Two Strikes, no one on base. The pitch bounces in front of the plate and the batter swing and tips the ball, wich goes directly into the catcher’s glove:

1. This is a foul tip: the batter is out since the foul tip was caught
2. The ball is live and it is no catch: the batter has became a batter-runner
3. It is a foul ball


A manual say "The correct answer is b. This one will make you think a little bit, won’t it? The bounced pitch means that it cannot, by rule, be caught, even though a “foul tip” has occurred. The fact that the ball went directly from the bat to the catcher’s glove means that the ball is live, however. The batter has struck out and became a batter-runner and must be tagged or thrown out at first. If the catcher had dropped the ball it would have benn a foul ball."

Is correct?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 07:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Which manual says the correct answer is "B"? (By the way...is this a trick question? I don't see any letter "B" among those answers! ).

This one's been knocked around and debated for years. At one point, one of the pro schools was teaching that this was a foul tip, the other that it was not.

To the best of my recollection, a few years ago MLB issued an interpretation that this is indeed a foul tip. The logic was that once the ball is contacted by the bat, you treat everything from that point forward just exactly the same as any other batted ball.

No reference materials available right now...I'm sure that someone will be able to fill in my sketchy account!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 08:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
"The only thing a bounced pitch cannot be is a called strike."

If he'd hit it fair would you be calling it a foul ball? If not, why would it be foul in the actual play?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
A manual say "The correct answer is 2.................
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandrosina View Post
A manual say "The correct answer is 2.................
Which manual is that? Because, by most interpretations here, that manual is incorrect.

(One of the versions on Jaksa/Roder had the interp as you say; they have now changed to agree with the others)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 323
Funny. I just posted regarding this on ABUA and now it's over here. Here's the rule from the OBR book.

Rule 2.00 (comment)..........If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a ball. The ball cannot be legally caught for the purpose of Rule 6.05(c )and 6.09(b). If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight.
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that."

Last edited by Forest Ump; Wed Feb 02, 2011 at 11:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
It's an uncaught foul tip!

BTW, I believe the rule references are 6.05(c) and 6.09(b)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
It's an uncaught foul tip!
Now that is an oxymoron!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
It's an uncaught foul tip!

BTW, I believe the rule references are 6.05(c) and 6.09(b)
Yep. Corrected
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Nope. Not corrected. Bamboozled!

6.05(c) and 6.09(b) pertain to catching pitches that never touched the bat. Once the bat contacts the pitch, it's no longer "a pitch". It is now "a batted ball". As such, all of the rules pertaining to batted balls now apply.

If this bounced pitch goes sharply and directly from the bat to the catcher's hands and is caught, it becomes a foul tip. Strike to the batter, ball remains live and in play. If it's strike three, the batter is out and not entitled to try for first base.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandrosina View Post


A manual say "The correct answer is b."

Your manual is incorrect. Get your money back.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
Nope. Not corrected. Bamboozled!

6.05(c) and 6.09(b) pertain to catching pitches that never touched the bat. Once the bat contacts the pitch, it's no longer "a pitch". It is now "a batted ball". As such, all of the rules pertaining to batted balls now apply.

If this bounced pitch goes sharply and directly from the bat to the catcher's hands and is caught, it becomes a foul tip. Strike to the batter, ball remains live and in play. If it's strike three, the batter is out and not entitled to try for first base.
He was just correcting the rules cited by 2.00 (Ball) Comment.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 07:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Which manual is that? Because, by most interpretations here, that manual is incorrect.

(One of the versions on Jaksa/Roder had the interp as you say; they have now changed to agree with the others)

It's a question in the Jaska/Roder e-book from 2010 manual
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 07:58pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
I think the E-book from J/R is very old. I don't think he's updated the E-book in years. Or did he?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 07:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandrosina View Post
It's a question in the Jaska/Roder e-book from 2010 manual
According to what I've read on other web-sites, he's changed his mind on this. You should ignore this question.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul where distance gained prior to foul wwcfoa43 Football 15 Sun Feb 20, 2011 06:04pm
Can you just call a team foul if you are not sure who the foul is on? Diebler biggravy Basketball 18 Sun Dec 13, 2009 07:20pm
Shooting Foul with Technical Foul / How Many FTs? rgncjn Basketball 5 Mon Jan 08, 2007 03:29am
offensive foul, defensive foul or no call? thereluctantref Basketball 2 Mon Mar 13, 2006 01:12pm
Anger over referee's foul calls triggers a bigger foul after game BktBallRef Basketball 10 Mon Mar 06, 2006 02:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1