![]() |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Sorry. ![]() This is another one of those kind of "tricky" rules things that is somewhat counterintuitive and a lot of people (including umpires) are confused about. What you suggest is true for OBR rules, but is NOT true for FED rules. Under OBR rules, the runner only loses his opportunity to correct his infraction if he touches a base beyond his position at the time the ball went out of play. Under FED rules, if he is a "base beyond" his retouch or missed base at the time the ball goes out of play, he has lost the opportunity to correct his infraction. Unless the umpire judges that the fielder intentionally threw the ball out of play to prevent him from returning to correct his infraction. (No, I an not making this up.) FED 8-2-6d1. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Left early on a caught fly | MD Longhorn | Softball | 21 | Tue Aug 24, 2010 01:55pm |
Don't get caught off guard | Adam | Basketball | 14 | Wed Jan 20, 2010 06:49am |
Sorry red, er, ah, I mean, caught ya red and your welcome | soundedlikeastrike | Softball | 0 | Sun Jul 19, 2009 12:39am |
Ball caught in DBT | rwest | Softball | 6 | Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:38pm |
Not caught with your pants down | John Schaefferkoetter | Basketball | 8 | Mon Feb 11, 2002 08:29pm |