The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 24, 2010, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
We can't let this die, even though we agree on the main sticky point, huh?

I thought the FED rule said NEXT base ... meaning if he was between 2nd and 3rd when the ball goes out of play, he can return to first as long as he doesn't touch THIRD.
Mike,

Sorry. I couldn't resist.

This is another one of those kind of "tricky" rules things that is somewhat counterintuitive and a lot of people (including umpires) are confused about.

What you suggest is true for OBR rules, but is NOT true for FED rules.

Under OBR rules, the runner only loses his opportunity to correct his infraction if he touches a base beyond his position at the time the ball went out of play.

Under FED rules, if he is a "base beyond" his retouch or missed base at the time the ball goes out of play, he has lost the opportunity to correct his infraction. Unless the umpire judges that the fielder intentionally threw the ball out of play to prevent him from returning to correct his infraction. (No, I an not making this up.)

FED 8-2-6d1.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 24, 2010, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
If I ever worked FED baseball, I'd have to come over here and study hard first. I only work baseball when softball runs out of steam, and all the summer ball here is OBR-based.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 24, 2010, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post

FED 8-2-6d1.

JM
They are so certain about it they put it in twice!
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 24, 2010, 02:07pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
So let me ask this:

I guarantee you hardly any if any at all FED coaches in my area would know this intricate piece of the rule for an appeal. So, from a mechanics standpoint, let's say the team is executing the proper appeal and R1 who passed 2B, retreats back to 1B, and beats the throw back to 1B.

How do we call this from a mechanics standpoint? Do we simply call R1 out because even though he's retreating back to 1B to retouch and gets back before the throw, he can't do so because he's already advanced past 2b?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 24, 2010, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
So let me ask this:

I guarantee you hardly any if any at all FED coaches in my area would know this intricate piece of the rule for an appeal. So, from a mechanics standpoint, let's say the team is executing the proper appeal and R1 who passed 2B, retreats back to 1B, and beats the throw back to 1B.

How do we call this from a mechanics standpoint? Do we simply call R1 out because even though he's retreating back to 1B to retouch and gets back before the throw, he can't do so because he's already advanced past 2b?
Yes. Even if he tries to retreat to 1B to correct his error, his error is uncorrectable and he is out upon a proper appeal.

If you really wanted to tweak the nose of the coach, call him out for running the bases in reverse to confuse the opponents.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Left early on a caught fly MD Longhorn Softball 21 Tue Aug 24, 2010 01:55pm
Don't get caught off guard Adam Basketball 14 Wed Jan 20, 2010 06:49am
Sorry red, er, ah, I mean, caught ya red and your welcome soundedlikeastrike Softball 0 Sun Jul 19, 2009 12:39am
Ball caught in DBT rwest Softball 6 Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:38pm
Not caught with your pants down John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 8 Mon Feb 11, 2002 08:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1