![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
You want to try again with an actual rules reference rather than personal attacks? |
|
|||
Quote:
Do you understand what the MLBUM is? It's the OFFICIAL from the owners of OBR interpretations of the rules. It is gospel. Opinions to the contrary are invalid.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm a Fed umpire and the MLBUM doesn't apply to my games at all. I'm not convinced that fielding and catching are equivalent. Why don't you try to actual use the rules to change my mine instead of just yelling at me? I've got an open mind but stamping your foot just makes me think you're wrong. |
|
|||
![]()
Dude!!! WTF are you talking about?!?!? If I had called you a moron, or your argument "retarded", THAT would have been attacking you personally.
I am deeply offended by your scurrilous, slanderous, and baseless accusation! (Sheesh, talk about getting personal.) I just stated the fact that you were mistaken and paraphrased the "argument" you presented to support your erroneous position. Rather concisely and objectively, I thought. Quote:
Quote:
1. In order for there to be a "play" as defined for Rule 7.05(g)... 2. Some fielder must have possession of the ball AND 3. Once he has possession of the ball, must perform some other act which the umpire judges to be a legitimate attempt (even if ultimately unsuccessful or aborted) to retire a runner. Therefore, making a legal catch of an in-flight batted ball cannot be a "first play" in the context of 7.05(g) because it does not meet the defined requirements in the official interpretation. Quod Erat Demonstrandum. Also... Quote:
JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. Last edited by UmpJM; Mon Aug 23, 2010 at 08:06pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Do you have a cite for all catching is fielding? Preferably for Fed, but I'll take an OBR cite as well. Quote:
I don't understand at all the lack of willingness of the board in general to cite rules instead of just blasting the person who asks questions. |
|
|||
Quote:
You've been given the correct answer using the correct sources. The correct response is: "Thanks guys, that's a great help! Now I know more than I did before." The path you're on leads to a place like the one occupied by the UIC in Mike's original post.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
![]()
Eastshire,
Quote:
Fielding and catching are NOT equivalent. I thought I already explained that. ...[/QUOTE] Again, I resent your libelous and baseless accusation. The first was a simple statement of fact, and the second was a response to your lie that I had not posted "any reference". Anybody can see them and you said I hadn't posted them. I was just calling you on your misrepresentation. If you don't like that, don't lie. Quote:
That's why there are "interpretation manuals". The MLBUM is "official" for OBR based games. What it says IS what the rule means, whether you've always thought of it that way or not. The BRD has an official interpretation from FED that says it's the same. That's the rule. Quote:
Show me a rule - or ANYTHING for that matter - that suggests your position is correct. I'll await with 'bated breath. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
JM,
I don't have a position, other than what I gave as my ruling before anyone else chimed in. When the different ruling was put forward, I said I wasn't yet convinced. Rather than trying to convince me, I've been called any number of things, sworn at and in general treated in a manner that I generally don't associate with convincing someone. In fact quite the opposite, the posters here have generally acted in the manner of those who don't have support for their position than those who do have support for their position. I did, however, find what has convinced me that you are correct for Fed. The baserunning award chart given in rule 8 lists 5. First throw by infielder . . . Pitch 6. For any subsequent play by an infielder . . . Throw I hope I will find you more cordial in the future. |
|
|||
Quote:
1. You're a skeptic, just waiting to be convinced. 2. The authoritative sources cited so far don't convince you. 3. You're a sensitive soul upset by being told he's an idiot for not being convinced by authoritative sources. Lah me.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
2. I'd never heard of the MLBUM before this thread. I'd heard of the PBUM which I suppose this is the successor to. Regardless, I've never worked a game where either of these have been adopted as authorities. 3. I'm pointing out it does no one any good to argue the person rather than the rule. The information you are trying to give is discounted when it comes with an attack. For example, you calling me an idiot does what exactly aside from making you feel superior to me? |
|
|||
Eastshire, for your viewing pleasure,
BRD 2009 pg 30. It don't get no easier: 29 AWARDS TO: RUNNER: FIRST PLAY BY INFIELDER: FAKED OR FEINTED THROW FED: Point not covered. OFF INTERP 35-T-29: HOPKINS: A fielder with the ball walking a few steps toward a runner constitutes a play. (Website, 2003, #7) A pitcher steps off the pitcher's plate and turns "abruptly" toward an occupied base. That is a play. (Website, 2003, #11) A faked or feinted throw also constitutes a play. (Website, 2003, #10) EXCEPT: A feint is not considered a throw. (8.3.5h) NCAA: Same as OBR OFF INTERP 36-29, this section. (8-30-3 AR 2) OBR: Point not covered. OFF INTERP 36-T-29: PBUC MANUAL: "A PLAY OR ATTEMPTED PLAY ... [original emphasis] shall be interpreted as a legitimate effort by a defensive player who has possession of the ball to actually retire a runner. This may include an actual attempt to tag a runner, a fielder running toward a base with the ball in an attempt to force or tag a runner, or actually throwing to another defensive player in an attempt to retire a runner. A fake or a feint to throw shall not be deemed a play or an attempted play. (The fact that the runner is not out is not relevant.)" I r3.11 AO 4-29: J/R: "It is a play if there is a (1) tag or tag try of a runner, (2) tag or tag try of a base, (3) throw to another fielder in a try to put out a runner, (4) rundown, or (5) balk. [original emphasis] (29:F) {See § 3D.} 21. ALSO: OFF INTERP 37-29: SI: J/R: "It is not a play if there is only: (1) an appeal; (2) a fake or feint of a throw; (3) an interruption of a throw; (4) a step or several steps toward a base or runner that do not result in an actual tag attempt; or (5) a dropped line drive or pop fly." Ir301 • Play 32-29: R2: Bl slaps a grounder to the shortstop, who runs a few steps toward second as R2 retreats. F6 then overthrows first. At TOT, Bl had already touched first. Ruling: In FED, R2 scores, and Bl goes to third (second play). In NCAA and OBR, Bl stops at second: The throw by F6 was the first play by an infielder. Note 26: NCAAIOBR: If F6 had tagged R2, or attempted a tag, that would have been his "first play, " and BI would be awarded third. Observe that the runner at second did not advance on the play, so NCAA 8-30 AR 1 and the Approved Ruling at OBR 7.05g AR do not apply. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
How ... which part? 99% of that post is irrelevant.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
So J/R specifically mentions that a "dropped" line drive/fly ball is not a play. I noticed the MLBUM gives an example using a dropped fly also, another distinction between a dropped fly/line drive and a caught one.
![]()
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! |
|
|||
I disagree - none of this answers the question. None of it.
Quote:
Here's the question in a nutshell. Quote:
The stuff quoted above doesn't cover this at all - no where does it say or even imply that a catch is not a play. In fact, "it is not a play if there is only a dropped fly ball or line drive" leads me to believe the opposite. If the rules makers were trying to say a catch was not a play, then this part of the rule would not need to say anything about it being dropped. It's like they are specifically separating a dropped ball from a caught ball by specifying that a DROPPED ball is not a play. If a caught ball is also not a play, why say Dropped at all? Again - I'm not trying to be belligerent, negative, trollish, argumentative, or stupid. I'm trying to UNDERSTAND. None of the posted caseplays apply to THIS question. All the MLBUM statements refer back to the above, which don't define it either. As an aside, I've emailed several local so-called rules authorities and honestly the response to the nutshell question has been mixed. No help there for me.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Left early on a caught fly | MD Longhorn | Softball | 21 | Tue Aug 24, 2010 01:55pm |
Don't get caught off guard | Adam | Basketball | 14 | Wed Jan 20, 2010 06:49am |
Sorry red, er, ah, I mean, caught ya red and your welcome | soundedlikeastrike | Softball | 0 | Sun Jul 19, 2009 12:39am |
Ball caught in DBT | rwest | Softball | 6 | Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:38pm |
Not caught with your pants down | John Schaefferkoetter | Basketball | 8 | Mon Feb 11, 2002 08:29pm |