The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 22, 2010, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Wow. Running lane interference is almost always from F2, and rarely from F1. Not sure I've ever seen or considered it called from 3rd base. BR must have been WAY inside the baseline for this call to be made.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 22, 2010, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Wow. Running lane interference is almost always from F2, and rarely from F1. Not sure I've ever seen or considered it called from 3rd base. BR must have been WAY inside the baseline for this call to be made.
Yeah. Usually F2, sometimes F1, once in a blue moon from F5 on a bunt, but I have personally NEVER seen runner interference on a throw to first from F5 from the vicinity of 3rd base (as the OP described).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 22, 2010, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Wow. Running lane interference is almost always from F2, and rarely from F1. Not sure I've ever seen or considered it called from 3rd base. BR must have been WAY inside the baseline for this call to be made.
I don't think the OP is talking about RLI. I read it as garden-variety thrown ball INT.

I would not call RLI on a play from F5 involving contact between F3 and BR -- the BR is allowed to be in fair territory that close to the base.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 22, 2010, 03:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I don't think the OP is talking about RLI. I read it as garden-variety thrown ball INT.

I would not call RLI on a play from F5 involving contact between F3 and BR -- the BR is allowed to be in fair territory that close to the base.
I'm wondering now how you're envisioning this play if you've got garden-variety thrown ball INT. Pegging the batter runner in the back is not interference, so what are you imagining on this play.

The reason I assumed RLI was this " His throw is up the line and the batter/runner is called out for interfering with the throw." I'm seeing up the line and BR being way into the infield for this to be a valid INT.

I think it likely the bad call was the INT itself! Can't see this really happening.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 22, 2010, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
...

I think it likely the bad call was the INT itself! Can't see this really happening.
mbcrowder,

You have no basis (other than your own, apparently limited, imagination) for making this judgement.

More to the point, it has ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with the question posed in the OP.

The question was if there WERE interference (suspend all disbelief as to whether or not this was a "correct" call), what would the proper ruling be?

To argue whether or not this actually WAS interference is a complete waste of time, because there was not sufficient information supplied to determine whether it properly was or wasn't - so all you can do is engage in baseless speculation on that question.

However, there was (nearly) sufficient information to discuss the actual question asked.

In FED, the "basic" rule (to which there ARE a couple of exceptions) is that runners return to the base occupied at the TOI. So, in a FED game, if the R3 had scored at the time the interference occurred, his run WOULD score (unless the interference were the 3rd out of the half inning).

In OBR, if the interference occurs before the BR has reached 1B, any remainng runners return to their TOP base. UNLESS there was an "intervening play" by the defense that occurred between the TOP and TOI. In which case, runners also return to their TOI base.

Now greymule was the first person on this thread to mention the "intervening play" exception under OBR. He suggests that it only applies if the "intervening play" occurred at home/on a runner attempting to score.

While EVERY published case play touching on the question in the official/authoritative interpretation manuals does, in fact, involve a play at HP - without exception, NONE of them explicitly states that the intervening play MUST occur at home for the exception to apply - again without exception.

So, I am unsure whether the play on R2 at 3B would "count" as an intervening play under OBR rules. If it doesn't, I would think you would have to return the "apparently retired" R2 to 2B if you negate the R3's score and return him to 3B.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 22, 2010, 04:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
I'm wondering now how you're envisioning this play if you've got garden-variety thrown ball INT. Pegging the batter runner in the back is not interference, so what are you imagining on this play.
Mike, the OP does not mention "pegging the runner in the back," but instead stipulates INT with a thrown ball. I'm envisioning the BR swiping at F3's glove as he runs past 1B, à la A-Rod.

Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post

So, I am unsure whether the play on R2 at 3B would "count" as an intervening play under OBR rules. If it doesn't, I would think you would have to return the "apparently retired" R2 to 2B if you negate the R3's score and return him to 3B.
You're NOT saying you cancel the out on R2 because of the BR's INT at 1B, are you? I'm negating R3's run because he's not likely to have been running on the pitch, and so wouldn't reach HP before the BR reaches 1B (the TOI).

Why wouldn't R2's out count as an intervening play? It's a play, and it intervenes between the batted ball and the INT!
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 22, 2010, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
...

You're NOT saying you cancel the out on R2 because of the BR's INT at 1B, are you? I'm negating R3's run because he's not likely to have been running on the pitch, and so wouldn't reach HP before the BR reaches 1B (the TOI).

Why wouldn't R2's out count as an intervening play? It's a play, and it intervenes between the batted ball and the INT!
Michael,

In my experience, on a ball batted into play, the R3 will invariably score before the BR reaches 1B.

What I intended to say was that...

If the R3 did in fact reach HP before the interference,

AND

you returned the R3 to 3B as a result of the BR's interference,

you would have to return the "apparently retired" R2 to 2B as well.

As I said, I'm not really sure whether a play at a base other than HP "counts" as an intervening play. In addition to what I said in my previous post, you will notice that greymule included the "...at home plate..." qualifier, and I have seen other credible posters suggest the same thing in the past.

To me, it seems that ANY intervening play should qualify to invoke the "exception" - I'm just not sure. And, I can't find any credible interpretation that clarifies the question one way or the other.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.

Last edited by UmpJM; Thu Jul 22, 2010 at 05:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 22, 2010, 09:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I was under the impression that the intervening play had to be at home plate. Yes, the case plays always have the play there, but I also remember reading some seemingly authoritative interpretation that mentioned the "finality of a run scoring." The same source said that a runner from 2B who had advanced to 3B during the intervening play at home would have to return to 2B even if he had reached 3B before the INT.

But I'm going only by what I drew from the discussion on that thread. I do not know for certain.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA Batter-Runner INT IRISHMAFIA Softball 7 Tue Mar 02, 2010 08:04pm
tag on batter/runner shipwreck Softball 30 Fri Oct 13, 2006 10:28am
Is the batter-runner out? M&M Guy Softball 6 Fri Sep 22, 2006 04:20pm
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter wfwbb Baseball 12 Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm
Batter/runner Wclapper Softball 5 Sun Mar 12, 2000 03:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1