The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 11:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 785
One thing the MLBUM ruling doesn't mention, but is probably obvious to most people on this board. Doesn't the runner between second and third also have to touch second on his way back to first?

So, if the ball went into DBT while he's between second and third, he's initially awarded home. But, he needs to touch second, then first. At this point, his award is changed to third. He again needs to touch second on his way to third.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 11:14pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 21, 2010, 07:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
One thing the MLBUM ruling doesn't mention, but is probably obvious to most people on this board. Doesn't the runner between second and third also have to touch second on his way back to first?

So, if the ball went into DBT while he's between second and third, he's initially awarded home. But, he needs to touch second, then first. At this point, his award is changed to third. He again needs to touch second on his way to third.
JM, thanks for the reference!

Also, in this situation, wouldn't the general principle of "last time by" be applicable if he went directly back to first and then touched second on his way to third?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 21, 2010, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by BaBa Booey View Post
JM, thanks for the reference!

Also, in this situation, wouldn't the general principle of "last time by" be applicable if he went directly back to first and then touched second on his way to third?
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 21, 2010, 08:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by BaBa Booey View Post
JM, thanks for the reference!

Also, in this situation, wouldn't the general principle of "last time by" be applicable if he went directly back to first and then touched second on his way to third?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes.
I must have missed this. Is the principle "last time by" spelled out somewhere. Is it true for all codes? Thanks

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 21, 2010, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
I must have missed this. Is the principle "last time by" spelled out somewhere. Is it true for all codes? Thanks

-Josh
Yes, true for all codes.

The principle is implicit in the base running rules (acquire by passing, definition of 'touch', retouch, appeals, etc.).

No rule says "each time by."
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 21, 2010, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 64
A brief search gave me this FED reference, but seeing as I no long work HS ball I have no idea what is says. But you can check it out if you want.

Courtesy of Mbyron:

The principle you need is called "last time by." When runners are passing a base, they are liable for not touching the base unless they touch it on their last time by. FED implicitly recognizes this principle in, for example 8.2.1C.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 21, 2010, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
In OBR, "last time by" does not correct a "gross miss" (i.e., more than a body length). So if the runner between 2B and 3B ran straight across the diamond to 1B, his subsequent touch of 2B would not correct the gross error.

[A spectator knows the rule ]"because he plays slow pitch softball"!

ASA softball awards 2 bases (not 1+1) TOT, even first play by an infielder. (However, the award is from the runner's position on the basepaths TOT, so a runner who has left 1B too soon but is between 2B and 3B when the throw is made is awarded home, but he still has to retouch 1B.)

I believe that one softball code (USSSA) does award "the base you're returning to plus one."
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
appeal after overthrow _Bruno_ Baseball 50 Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:26pm
Overthrow at first base WinterWillie Softball 2 Fri May 13, 2005 02:01am
overthrow/award chasbo Softball 6 Sat May 15, 2004 10:26am
Base award TERRY1 Softball 5 Thu Aug 22, 2002 02:39pm
Saw overthrow award refjef40 Softball 2 Tue Jun 04, 2002 01:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1