The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 10:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to charliej47 Send a message via MSN to charliej47 Send a message via Yahoo to charliej47
Talking Awards

I once awarded a dead-ball award and informed the runner he was awarded 3rd base. He was between 2nd and 3rd at the time of the award.

The runner proceeded to 3rd base.

PU puts the ball back into play. I was expecting an appeal on a missed base at 1st. Nobody said anything and the inning ended with the next batter hitting a pop-up.

Between innings the DC came out and asked me about the award and appeal. He wanted to know why I had not called the runner out for not going back and touching 1st base.

I informed the coach that umpires no longer call runners out for missing a base.

I got the "deer in the headlights" look and he went back to the dugout.
__________________
Charles Johnson Jr
NFHS Class #1 softball/baseball
ASA/USSSA
Dayton, Ohio

I have been umpiring so long that it was called Rounders when I started.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 12:39pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Twist it a little..

Situation 1: If R1 was between 2nd and 3rd when F9 made an amazing catch, then F9 wildly rocketed it back into DBT (R1 still in between 2nd and 3rd at TOT)...R1 may not retouch and is out on appeal; award 2 bases from TOT (award home).

Situation 2: R1. BR hits it in deep right-center. F9 makes a great catch. Seeing R1 is almost to 3rd but slamming on the brakes, a smart but not so smart F9 thinks "Man, I've got him dead-red if I throw into DHT." F9 intentionally throws into DBT. The umpire judges F9 intentionally threw into DBT.

This is a situation where we allow R1 to return to touch; however (I can't remember), in this exception, is the award now from the TOP?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 175
FED 8-3-3d (2008 ed.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
Twist it a little..

Situation 1: If R1 was between 2nd and 3rd when F9 made an amazing catch, then F9 wildly rocketed it back into DBT (R1 still in between 2nd and 3rd at TOT)...R1 may not retouch and is out on appeal; award 2 bases from TOT (award home).

Situation 2: R1. BR hits it in deep right-center. F9 makes a great catch. Seeing R1 is almost to 3rd but slamming on the brakes, a smart but not so smart F9 thinks "Man, I've got him dead-red if I throw into DHT." F9 intentionally throws into DBT. The umpire judges F9 intentionally threw into DBT.

This is a situation where we allow R1 to return to touch; however (I can't remember), in this exception, is the award now from the TOP?
A runner shall not be declared out if the fielder deliberately throws or carries the ball into DBT to prevent that runner who has touched or advanced beyond a succeeding base from returning to a missed base or a base left too soon. Award the runner 2 bases. This allows the runner(s) to correct any base-running error.
__________________
Ump Rube
-----------------------------------------------------
Ump (uhmp) shorted form; an official in a sport who rules on plays.
Rube (roob) slang; sports fan who listens to KFAN in Minneapolis, MN.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
Twist it a little..

Situation 1: If R1 was between 2nd and 3rd when F9 made an amazing catch, then F9 wildly rocketed it back into DBT (R1 still in between 2nd and 3rd at TOT)...R1 may not retouch and is out on appeal; award 2 bases from TOT (award home).

Situation 2: R1. BR hits it in deep right-center. F9 makes a great catch. Seeing R1 is almost to 3rd but slamming on the brakes, a smart but not so smart F9 thinks "Man, I've got him dead-red if I throw into DHT." F9 intentionally throws into DBT. The umpire judges F9 intentionally threw into DBT.

This is a situation where we allow R1 to return to touch; however (I can't remember), in this exception, is the award now from the TOP?
I don't think so. Since the throw is from the outfield, it should be time of throw. From the infield it would be time of pitch.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 01:02pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Ok, so it's still TOT and we are going to award R1 home. However, we will allow R1 to re-touch 1st.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
I believe we award R1 home, because he was past second base and that's seen as the last legally acquired base. We allow him to retouch first, but then he has to touch all other bases on his way home.

The defense can appeal at first and R1 can be out on a proper appeal.

Last edited by fbara; Thu May 20, 2010 at 01:26pm. Reason: clarification.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
Ok, so it's still TOT and we are going to award R1 home. However, we will allow R1 to re-touch 1st.
I believe in the Major League manual you initially award him home, and as soon as he goes back and retouches 1st, you change the award to 3rd base.

If anyone has a copy they can verify.

It might not be this play, but there is in fact a play where the award is changed when the runner properly retouches his base.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaBa Booey View Post
I believe in the Major League manual you initially award him home, and as soon as he goes back and retouches 1st, you change the award to 3rd base.

If anyone has a copy they can verify.

It might not be this play, but there is in fact a play where the award is changed when the runner properly retouches his base.
BaBa Booey,

From the MLBUM:

Quote:
5.10 AWARD MADE FROM ORIGINAL BASE AFTER CATCH

A runner who is forced to return to a base after a catch must retouch his original base even though he may have been awarded additional bases on the play. The runner may retouch while the ball is dead (provided the runner does so before reaching the next base-see Section 5.11), and the award is then made from his original base. (See Casebook Comments following Official Baseball Rule 7.05(i).)

Play: Runner on first, one out. Batter flies out to right field for second out. However, runner on first thought there were two out and is between second and third when the ball is caught. Right fielder's throw to first s wild and goes into the dugout. Runner is between second and third when
the wild throw is made.

Ruling: Runner is initially awarded home (two bases from his position at the time of the throw). However, while the ball is dead, the runner must return to and retouch first base. Furthermore, because the runner was between second and third when the ball went out of play, he must return to first before reaching and touching third (his next base). If the runner touches third, he may not return to first; and if the defensive team appeals, the runner is out at first. However, if the runner properly returns and retouches first before reaching third, the award then becomes third base (two bases from his original base).
It is the same in FED as specified in 8-3-5.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 02:30pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Thanks JM for the reference. That's what I thought.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 11:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 789
One thing the MLBUM ruling doesn't mention, but is probably obvious to most people on this board. Doesn't the runner between second and third also have to touch second on his way back to first?

So, if the ball went into DBT while he's between second and third, he's initially awarded home. But, he needs to touch second, then first. At this point, his award is changed to third. He again needs to touch second on his way to third.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 05:52pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliej47 View Post
I once awarded a dead-ball award and informed the runner he was awarded 3rd base. He was between 2nd and 3rd at the time of the award.

The runner proceeded to 3rd base.

PU puts the ball back into play. I was expecting an appeal on a missed base at 1st. Nobody said anything and the inning ended with the next batter hitting a pop-up.

Between innings the DC came out and asked me about the award and appeal. He wanted to know why I had not called the runner out for not going back and touching 1st base.

I informed the coach that umpires no longer call runners out for missing a base.

I got the "deer in the headlights" look and he went back to the dugout.
Was the coach Rip Van Winkle? He had to have been in a coma for the last 20 years.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
appeal after overthrow _Bruno_ Baseball 50 Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:26pm
Overthrow at first base WinterWillie Softball 2 Fri May 13, 2005 02:01am
overthrow/award chasbo Softball 6 Sat May 15, 2004 10:26am
Base award TERRY1 Softball 5 Thu Aug 22, 2002 02:39pm
Saw overthrow award refjef40 Softball 2 Tue Jun 04, 2002 01:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1