The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Base award on Appeal overthrow (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/58160-base-award-appeal-overthrow.html)

tibear Thu May 20, 2010 07:31am

Base award on Appeal overthrow
 
Had a situation last night that I'm fairly certain I got right but just want to verify.

R1 with 1 out, BR hits flyball that looks like it might drop in. R1 is almost at second base when left fielder makes a great catch and comes up firing to first trying to get R1. Ball gets passed everyone and ends up in dead ball territory.

What base is R1 awarded?

mbyron Thu May 20, 2010 07:49am

2 bases from time of throw. He must retouch, even if the ball is dead.

waltjp Thu May 20, 2010 08:17am

Third base.

TwoBits Thu May 20, 2010 08:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 677610)
2 bases from time of throw. He must retouch, even if the ball is dead.

Just to clarify: place the runner at third base. Do not let the defensive coach try to argue the so-called "1+1" rule where the runner gets the base he's trying for plus one more and that after the catch in the outfield the base he is trying for is a return to first.

tibear Thu May 20, 2010 08:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TwoBits (Post 677620)
Just to clarify: place the runner at third base. Do not let the defensive coach try to argue the so-called "1+1" rule where the runner gets the base he's trying for plus one more and that after the catch in the outfield the base he is trying for is a return to first.

This was the exact scenario, didn't buy it and awarded third. The next inning the opposition manager came to me and asked why his runner got third. He was surprised that all throws that don't come from the rubber are two base awards, either from time of pitch or time of throw.

I shouldn't be surprised by the ignorance of coaches but we're not talking about first time coaches, these are guys that have been in the game for 15-20 years.

TwoBits Thu May 20, 2010 08:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tibear (Post 677624)
I shouldn't be surprised by the ignorance of coaches but we're not talking about first time coaches, these are guys that have been in the game for 15-20 years.

That doesn't mean they've ever read a rule book. :D

charliej47 Thu May 20, 2010 10:26am

Awards
 
I once awarded a dead-ball award and informed the runner he was awarded 3rd base. He was between 2nd and 3rd at the time of the award.

The runner proceeded to 3rd base.

PU puts the ball back into play. I was expecting an appeal on a missed base at 1st. Nobody said anything and the inning ended with the next batter hitting a pop-up.

Between innings the DC came out and asked me about the award and appeal. He wanted to know why I had not called the runner out for not going back and touching 1st base.:eek:

I informed the coach that umpires no longer call runners out for missing a base.:rolleyes:

I got the "deer in the headlights" look and he went back to the dugout. :D

tjones1 Thu May 20, 2010 12:39pm

Twist it a little..

Situation 1: If R1 was between 2nd and 3rd when F9 made an amazing catch, then F9 wildly rocketed it back into DBT (R1 still in between 2nd and 3rd at TOT)...R1 may not retouch and is out on appeal; award 2 bases from TOT (award home).

Situation 2: R1. BR hits it in deep right-center. F9 makes a great catch. Seeing R1 is almost to 3rd but slamming on the brakes, a smart but not so smart F9 thinks "Man, I've got him dead-red if I throw into DHT." F9 intentionally throws into DBT. The umpire judges F9 intentionally threw into DBT.

This is a situation where we allow R1 to return to touch; however (I can't remember), in this exception, is the award now from the TOP?

Ump Rube Thu May 20, 2010 12:45pm

FED 8-3-3d (2008 ed.)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 677672)
Twist it a little..

Situation 1: If R1 was between 2nd and 3rd when F9 made an amazing catch, then F9 wildly rocketed it back into DBT (R1 still in between 2nd and 3rd at TOT)...R1 may not retouch and is out on appeal; award 2 bases from TOT (award home).

Situation 2: R1. BR hits it in deep right-center. F9 makes a great catch. Seeing R1 is almost to 3rd but slamming on the brakes, a smart but not so smart F9 thinks "Man, I've got him dead-red if I throw into DHT." F9 intentionally throws into DBT. The umpire judges F9 intentionally threw into DBT.

This is a situation where we allow R1 to return to touch; however (I can't remember), in this exception, is the award now from the TOP?

A runner shall not be declared out if the fielder deliberately throws or carries the ball into DBT to prevent that runner who has touched or advanced beyond a succeeding base from returning to a missed base or a base left too soon. Award the runner 2 bases. This allows the runner(s) to correct any base-running error.

TwoBits Thu May 20, 2010 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 677672)
Twist it a little..

Situation 1: If R1 was between 2nd and 3rd when F9 made an amazing catch, then F9 wildly rocketed it back into DBT (R1 still in between 2nd and 3rd at TOT)...R1 may not retouch and is out on appeal; award 2 bases from TOT (award home).

Situation 2: R1. BR hits it in deep right-center. F9 makes a great catch. Seeing R1 is almost to 3rd but slamming on the brakes, a smart but not so smart F9 thinks "Man, I've got him dead-red if I throw into DHT." F9 intentionally throws into DBT. The umpire judges F9 intentionally threw into DBT.

This is a situation where we allow R1 to return to touch; however (I can't remember), in this exception, is the award now from the TOP?

I don't think so. Since the throw is from the outfield, it should be time of throw. From the infield it would be time of pitch.

tjones1 Thu May 20, 2010 01:02pm

Ok, so it's still TOT and we are going to award R1 home. However, we will allow R1 to re-touch 1st.

fbara Thu May 20, 2010 01:09pm

I believe we award R1 home, because he was past second base and that's seen as the last legally acquired base. We allow him to retouch first, but then he has to touch all other bases on his way home.

The defense can appeal at first and R1 can be out on a proper appeal.

BaBa Booey Thu May 20, 2010 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 677680)
Ok, so it's still TOT and we are going to award R1 home. However, we will allow R1 to re-touch 1st.

I believe in the Major League manual you initially award him home, and as soon as he goes back and retouches 1st, you change the award to 3rd base.

If anyone has a copy they can verify.

It might not be this play, but there is in fact a play where the award is changed when the runner properly retouches his base.

UmpJM Thu May 20, 2010 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BaBa Booey (Post 677684)
I believe in the Major League manual you initially award him home, and as soon as he goes back and retouches 1st, you change the award to 3rd base.

If anyone has a copy they can verify.

It might not be this play, but there is in fact a play where the award is changed when the runner properly retouches his base.

BaBa Booey,

From the MLBUM:

Quote:

5.10 AWARD MADE FROM ORIGINAL BASE AFTER CATCH

A runner who is forced to return to a base after a catch must retouch his original base even though he may have been awarded additional bases on the play. The runner may retouch while the ball is dead (provided the runner does so before reaching the next base-see Section 5.11), and the award is then made from his original base. (See Casebook Comments following Official Baseball Rule 7.05(i).)

Play: Runner on first, one out. Batter flies out to right field for second out. However, runner on first thought there were two out and is between second and third when the ball is caught. Right fielder's throw to first s wild and goes into the dugout. Runner is between second and third when
the wild throw is made.

Ruling: Runner is initially awarded home (two bases from his position at the time of the throw). However, while the ball is dead, the runner must return to and retouch first base. Furthermore, because the runner was between second and third when the ball went out of play, he must return to first before reaching and touching third (his next base). If the runner touches third, he may not return to first; and if the defensive team appeals, the runner is out at first. However, if the runner properly returns and retouches first before reaching third, the award then becomes third base (two bases from his original base).
It is the same in FED as specified in 8-3-5.

JM

tjones1 Thu May 20, 2010 02:30pm

Thanks JM for the reference. That's what I thought.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1