![]() |
|
|
|||
This is an interesting one
NFHS rules (though I don't know if the rule set makes a difference). R1, no outs, when the BR hits a line drive to RF. RF comes up throwing to 3B and R1 is retired in a quick rundown (5-6 if you need to know). The BR has taken the rundown as an opportunity to try and advance to 2B.
The second baseman is covering the bag expecting this when a ball from an adjacent field lands in the infield and, in one bounce, goes right to the second baseman who tags out the BR who is sliding into 2B. Please help me understand how you would begin to untangle this mess and what your call, with references, would be. I'll admit ignorance of where to even start looking in the rule book for how to treat this situation (other than knowing that the BR is not out for being tagged by a ball from a different game!). Your reward will be to hear the post-script (enticing, no?). ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Personally, I'd be too busy LMAO to make the call!
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
I'd use the "loose equipment which interferes with play" rule, the "god rule" and the CS&FP handbook to make it right. Probably leave BR at second (if F4 was catching the loose ball, he couldn't have been about to catch a throw from F6 to play on BR)
|
|
|||
Thanks for the replies so far.
Ozzy - sorry I didn't make it clear but I'm a coach not an umpire. Believe me, we saw the ball come onto the field and would have yelled "Time" if we thought it would have helped! That was ball #2 of about 6 that ended up on our field that night. Also, agree that the tag meant nothing. Just thought it was a strange/interesting turn of events (A+ for the 2B having enough perception to see the ball and catch it, F- for situational awareness!). As the post-script, the umpires on the scene agreed with Bob. Their decision was that the BR would have reached 2B regardless of the loose ball appearing on the field. The next batter got plunked anyway so it most certainly didn't impact the game and we didn't make a stink about it either. The only thing we thought was that since the ball appeared on the field before he had reached 2B was that he should have gone back to the last base reached. By the responses it appears that common sense may prevail in cases like this. |
|
|||
Quote:
When I first read the OP, I would have gone with "spectator interference." That way I'm forced to kill the play, and it allows me to nullify the interference in whatever way I see fit. In the end though, we have the same thing: runner on second. |
|
|||
similar play that I had
I hope the OP has been resolved and I'm not hijacking this thread.
I had a similar play. U14 select ball. No one on (partner in A). B hits grounder to F4. I'm starting to follow B up the line when a ball from an adjacent field comes into the infield. There are now two ground balls (other ball bounces towards F6), but everyone knows which one is ours. F4 fields the ball cleanly and I am shouting to everyone "PLAY ON". But instead of F4 getting the easy out, he starts watching the other ball and doesn't make a throw. I asked partner if he called time. No he didn't. I let the play stand. B on 1B. Should I have killed the play? If so, by what rule/authority? |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
So, it's all 9.01(c) (and the equivalent in other codes). Heck, I could even envision a "do-over" under the right circumstances. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Interesting....... | kufan1975 | Baseball | 17 | Wed Jul 15, 2009 06:55pm |
Interesting T | slow whistle | Basketball | 42 | Tue Mar 10, 2009 07:58am |
Interesting... | oyaisee | Baseball | 2 | Fri Nov 09, 2007 03:00pm |
An Interesting Day | tjones1 | General / Off-Topic | 4 | Mon Sep 18, 2006 01:54pm |