![]() |
|
|||
Jim is John, except on Friday's when I call him Jim...sheeze...get a clue...LOL
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Quote:
Good questions, which get to the heart of the point I was trying to explore. At what point is the runner no longer "being played upon". In your examples, I would be inclined to go with "Type A" - the runner was still being played upon. I think I would tend to use the criteria of "a step and a reach" in Bob's hypothetical, and, in Michael's, whether the ball was deflected towards another fielder in such a way that he had a "likely" play on the obstructed runner. (Similar to the criteria one would use to judge a runner's obligation to avoid a fielder attempting to field a "deflected" batted ball, if that makes sense.) At the other end of the spectrum, if the F2 had "airmailed it" down the left field line, or the deflection was such that the ball went bounding into LCF instead of remaining in the infield, I would be quite comfortable judging that the runner was not being played upon at the time of the obstruction. The actual play in the linked video is much more in the "grey area". The thing that led me to suggest that the runner was no longer being played upon (hence, Type B) was that by the time the F6 actually got possession of the ball, the runner was so close to 3B (despite the "leg lock" applied by Loretta) that he never even started to attempt a play on the R3. An argument could certainly be made that he was still "in a rundown", and, apparently that was the ruling - which was met with only the mildest objection from the defense. I was just trying to explore where one ought draw the line, because none of us is going to have this exact play in our games, but we might have something similar. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
Hmmmmm . . . .
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
JimJohn, in your 'airmail' scenario I would agree with your interpretation.
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
Airmail:
(i) If F5 obstructs the runner on the way back to the base as the airmail passes overhead, I'd say Type A. (ii) If F5 obstructs the runner after he turns and heads for home, with the ball rolling around LF, I'd say Type B. Partly my ruling is based on the fact that the runner will get home in either scenario. Partly it's based on what F5 is trying to do: in (i) he doesn't know the ball got away, and he's setting up a tag on the runner around 3B. To his mind, he's still playing on the runner: Type A. In (ii), he knows the ball's out in LF, and he's delaying the runner to set up a play at the plate. That's Type B.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Obstruction Call- LA Dodgers game | jmkupka | Softball | 39 | Wed Oct 07, 2009 01:27pm |
Dodgers v. Reds - Dead ball missed | travlinmatt | Baseball | 16 | Tue Sep 01, 2009 11:17pm |
Mets/Dodgers | SanDiegoSteve | Baseball | 11 | Thu Oct 05, 2006 08:44am |
Cardinals vs Dodgers Game 3 | dddunn3d | Baseball | 5 | Fri Oct 15, 2004 01:48pm |
Cardinals VS. Dodgers Game 4 | gordon30307 | Baseball | 14 | Fri Oct 15, 2004 01:45pm |