The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 20, 2009, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcarilli View Post
Since the initial attempt to retire the runner at first after the catch is an appeal and the fielder erred (ie threw the ball into dead ball territory) no further appeal is allowed on the runner at first base in the OP. I think this is the case in all three codes; if not, have at it.
Two things:

1) An "err" on a continuous action appeal doesn't negate the right to further appeals after the ball again becomes live. An "err" on a "relaxed action" appeal does negate that right.

2) In FED, the defense can continue to appeal eve if they throw the ball out of play on the first (relaxed action) appeal.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 20, 2009, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 219
Why

What is the reference for that (ie relaxed vs. not relaxed).

What is the difference between a retouch and a "leaving early." We aren't including 2nd base in any of this, yes? If so, leave it out. I am only concerned with the retouch of first.
__________________
Tony Carilli
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 20, 2009, 05:09pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
I think relaxed vs not relaxed is J/R terminology.

The difference between retouch and "leaving early" is I think two different terms. Retouch = "Tag up" and Leaving Early is leaving early...the point of this thread is that even if the ball is thrown out of play or into DBT (dead ball territory) on a caught fly ball, even though there is a base award the runner is still obiligated to "tag up" prior to his base award and if he advances to and touches 3B if he started on 1B, he loses the right to retouch 1B and may be called out on appeal. (that's my understanding anyway.) for OBR rules.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 20, 2009, 05:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
I think relaxed vs not relaxed is J/R terminology.

The difference between retouch and "leaving early" is I think two different terms. Retouch = "Tag up" and Leaving Early is leaving early...the point of this thread is that even if the ball is thrown out of play or into DBT (dead ball territory) on a caught fly ball, even though there is a base award the runner is still obiligated to "tag up" prior to his base award and if he advances to and touches 3B if he started on 1B, he loses the right to retouch 1B and may be called out on appeal. (that's my understanding anyway.) for OBR rules.
Yes it is Jaksa/Roder, but that is not the way I understand the context. One does not need to retouch (absent a foul ball) unless the ball is caught and the runner has left early.

Yes I understand that he is obligated to retouch first on the award, but he has to retouch because he left early, that is why the defense is appealing in the first place.
__________________
Tony Carilli
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 20, 2009, 06:05pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
I agree with your post tcarilli.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 20, 2009, 08:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcarilli View Post
What is the reference for that (ie relaxed vs. not relaxed).
It's in many of the reference material. Here's one:

PBUC 2009 Updates, 3.4J (it's essentially the same play as being discussed here, ecxcept F5 throws the ball out of play attempting to "double up" R1); Doesn't the act of the third baseman throwing the ball out of play nullify a succeeding appeal attempt? That is, hasn't the defense erred on its first attempt to appeal? rULING: nO. thE WILD THROW BY THE THIRD BASEMAN IS PART OF THE CONTINUOUS ACTION CREATED BY THE BATTER HITTING THE BALL ABD DOES NBOT NULLIFY A SUBSEQUENT APPEAL AFTER THE CONTINUOUS ACTION HAS ENDED.

(Apolgies for the caps)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ankiel injury - Catch/No-catch? TxUmp Baseball 17 Wed May 06, 2009 11:26pm
BU help PU with catch/no catch in infield? Angler Softball 4 Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:20am
Catch or no catch(foul ball)? illiniwek8 Baseball 2 Sat Mar 25, 2006 07:16pm
To catch, or not to catch; the coin, that is... chiefgil Football 13 Wed Aug 11, 2004 06:40am
OBR Appeal tasoump Baseball 1 Tue Jul 02, 2002 02:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1