The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 06:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
Base Touch Responsibility

With R1 and R2 in a two man system who is responsible for the BR touch of first? I don't think it matters but the rule set would be OBR.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 06:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
With R1 and R2 in a two man system who is responsible for the BR touch of first? I don't think it matters but the rule set would be OBR.
BU has all touches and tags at 1B and 2B.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 07:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,791
I agree with mbyron, and will add that PU can help if BU is "busy" with a trouble ball to the outfield at the time BR reaches first.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I agree with mbyron, and will add that PU can help if BU is "busy" with a trouble ball to the outfield at the time BR reaches first.
The BU, in the PBUC Manual, has responsibility for the TAG of R1 and R2, he is also responsible for the touches of R1 of 2nd and always the B/R in this scenario. A plate guy should never help out.

Quid Pro Quo??: What if BU looked at the touch and so did PU... they appeal and you give two different calls.

Even on a trouble ball in this scenario... the farthest you are going is to the edge of the grass dirt line in the infield. On trouble wait for firm a and secure possession and a voluntary release. YOU HAVE TO LOOK TO SEE IF B/R TOUCHES. EVEN IF YOU DO NOT SEE HIM TOUCH. YOU HAVE TO LOOK.

When a manager comes out on you... you say:
BU: "Mike... I looked. Did you see me look?"
Manager: "Yeah I saw you look. And you missed him, missing the base."
BU: "If you where looking at me, how did you see him miss the base?"

If it goes from there, more than likely would be an ejection. But that is the start of the situation handling for this scenario (I.E. JEAPU).

So recap!!!

Tags: 1:BU 2:BU 3:PU
Touches: 1:BU 2:BU 3:PU H:PU
Fly Ball Outs at Bases: 1:BU 2:BU 3:PU (I've got 3rd if he tags) H:PU
Ground ball outs: 1:BU 2: BU 3:BU H:PU
Fair/Foul:PU
Trouble in the "U": BU
Touches of B/R: BU

Hope this helps. I read the Red Book constantly...its my specialty.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maz17 View Post
Quid Pro Quo??: What if BU looked at the touch and so did PU... they appeal and you give two different calls.
This is why you should always pregame that you should make eye contact with your partner as the fielders are going through the motions to set up an appeal so you can say either "me" or "you" to your partner discretely so you're not making double calls.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
This is why you should always pregame that you should make eye contact with your partner as the fielders are going through the motions to set up an appeal so you can say either "me" or "you" to your partner discretely so you're not making double calls.
Or you should just know your responsibilities! Why pre-game something that does not need to be gone over?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 05:05pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maz17 View Post
Or you should just know your responsibilities! Why pre-game something that does not need to be gone over?
Because some of us umpire in the real world, not inside the red book.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 05:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maz17 View Post
The BU, in the PBUC Manual, has responsibility for the TAG of R1 and R2, he is also responsible for the touches of R1 of 2nd and always the B/R in this scenario. A plate guy should never help out.

Quid Pro Quo??: What if BU looked at the touch and so did PU... they appeal and you give two different calls.

Even on a trouble ball in this scenario... the farthest you are going is to the edge of the grass dirt line in the infield. On trouble wait for firm a and secure possession and a voluntary release. YOU HAVE TO LOOK TO SEE IF B/R TOUCHES. EVEN IF YOU DO NOT SEE HIM TOUCH. YOU HAVE TO LOOK.

When a manager comes out on you... you say:
BU: "Mike... I looked. Did you see me look?"
Manager: "Yeah I saw you look. And you missed him, missing the base."
BU: "If you where looking at me, how did you see him miss the base?"

If it goes from there, more than likely would be an ejection. But that is the start of the situation handling for this scenario (I.E. JEAPU).

So recap!!!

Tags: 1:BU 2:BU 3:PU
Touches: 1:BU 2:BU 3:PU H:PU
Fly Ball Outs at Bases: 1:BU 2:BU 3:PU (I've got 3rd if he tags) H:PU
Ground ball outs: 1:BU 2: BU 3:BU H:PU
Fair/Foul:PU
Trouble in the "U": BU
Touches of B/R: BU

Hope this helps. I read the Red Book constantly...its my specialty.
You missed two exceptions:

Trouble ball where BU goes out
R1 or R1/R2 with fly ball down the RF line (Requires pre-game discussion)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 05:59pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maz17 View Post
So recap!!!

Tags: 1:BU 2:BU 3:PU
Touches: 1:BU 2:BU 3:PU H:PU
Fly Ball Outs at Bases: 1:BU 2:BU 3:PU (I've got 3rd if he tags) H:PU
Ground ball outs: 1:BU 2: BU 3:BU H:PU
Fair/Foul:PU
Trouble in the "U": BU
Touches of B/R: BU
With R2 only, doesn't the base umpire have the catch, the tag, and R2 to 3rd? That's how I was taught. Only with R1 and R2 should the PU have 3rd.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 09, 2009, 12:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
With R2 only, doesn't the base umpire have the catch, the tag, and R2 to 3rd? That's how I was taught. Only with R1 and R2 should the PU have 3rd.
Yes. You are right. But that is not the original question. The original scenario had R1 and R2. That was the only responsibilities I addressed.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 09, 2009, 12:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalblue1 View Post
You missed two exceptions:

Trouble ball where BU goes out
R1 or R1/R2 with fly ball down the RF line (Requires pre-game discussion)
Again... this is only addressing R1 and R2. And I said fair/foul is the plate guy. I did forget to mention if PU is "on the line" he gives up his "help" of I've got 3rd if he tags. But in this original question... BU always has the touch of B/R.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 09, 2009, 08:19am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maz17 View Post
Yes. You are right. But that is not the original question. The original scenario had R1 and R2. That was the only responsibilities I addressed.
But you listed R3 and 3rd base responsibilities as well, so I felt you missed one.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 09, 2009, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maz17 View Post
Quid Pro Quo??: What if BU looked at the touch and so did PU... they appeal and you give two different calls.
Where did I say give two different calls?

Play: R1, R2. Sinking liner to right center. F9 dives for the ball, it hits his glove, he hits the ground and rolls over, he raises his glove -- but there's no ball in it, he picks the ball up off the ground and fires it into second where BR is safe on a close play.

During the entire "dive ... pick up the ball" action, BR went from 6 feet before first to 1/2 way to second, missing the base.

BU can't look away from F9 during that action.

Are you saying that BU's looking after the fact would appease the coach?

Frankly, I'd rather have PU step up and make the call on the appeal.

In theory, theory and practice are the same thing. In practice, they aren't.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 09, 2009, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
[QUOTE]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maz17 View Post
The BU, in the PBUC Manual, has responsibility for the TAG of R1 and R2, he is also responsible for the touches of R1 of 2nd and always the B/R in this scenario. A plate guy should never help out.

Quid Pro Quo??: What if BU looked at the touch and so did PU... they appeal and you give two different calls.
I am with Bob:

If it's a troubled ball the BU has virtually NO time to see the BR touch first base. His eyes are glued to the fielder to determine if we have a catch / no catch.

The bottom line: there are flaws in the 2 person system meaning there is nothing that is CONCRETE depending upon what happens.

If the coach did come out and want to appeal then you have eye contact with your partner and indicate :I've got it" The coach KNOWS the BU was not looking and sometimes they appeal for the sake of appealing to ascertain if the umpires are indeed watching the runners touch the bases.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 09, 2009, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
In theory, theory and practice are the same thing. In practice, they aren't.
This is awesome! Can I borrow it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no runners - base hit, responsibility for the BR _Bruno_ Baseball 58 Mon Aug 11, 2008 08:19am
Missed re-touch of a base while retreating... Bluefoot Softball 6 Thu May 27, 2004 04:23pm
runner returning to touch base shipwreck Softball 15 Fri Mar 29, 2002 09:14am
Base touch responsibilities Roger Greene Softball 2 Thu Mar 01, 2001 09:58pm
Appeals missed base- tag/touch rex Baseball 3 Wed Aug 30, 2000 05:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1