![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Thanks David |
|
|||
|
To further clarify, you award R2 3rd base on the obstruction, because that is the base he was going back to, not trying to score.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
I'd be careful with the way you're stating it, Steve. The runner may still be advancing, i.e. - moving forward after rounding third base with no real intent of trying to score at the time of the obstruction.
Type B, runner to third. Someone is bound to read your statement and say that the runner would be awarded third base because he was moving toward third, or home because he was moving in that direction.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
As I envision the play in my mind's eye, it's nothing. (But, I would remind F5 to stay out of the way.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'd agree with this for Fed rules. Simply b/c in Fed, if OBS is called, the runner is awarded the next base. In OBR, I disagree and I think Kyle got it. I still call OBS b/c of the contact. It is not incidental b/c F5 had no business being there. And, in OBR, base awards(whether it be advancing or returning) are given if any apply. As in Kyle's ex., the runner is thrown out by a mile. So, even though OBS would be called, the runner is still out at HP. So, in the OP, I still have OBS but no awards are given if not playing under Fed or any rule set which automatically awards at least 1 base on OBS.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
|
|||
|
GA Umpire says: "So, in the OP, I still have OBS but no awards are given if not playing under Fed or any rule set which automatically awards at least 1 base on OBS."
If F1 blocks the bag on a pickoff play at 1st, without the ball, and OBS is called, is the runner only protected back to 1st, or is he awarded 2nd on the OBS? |
|
|||
|
Bishopcolle,
Whether NFHS, NCAA, or OBR if a runner is obstructed while the defense is "making a play" on him, he is awarded one base beyond his position at the time he was obstructed. What actually constitutes obstruction varies somewhat from one code to another. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
|
Disagree. A runner rounding third is looking to advance if possible.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Obstruction? | tarheelcoach | Baseball | 68 | Sat Mar 24, 2007 08:35pm |
| OBSTRUCTION going into 2nd??? | PFISTO | Baseball | 11 | Sun Dec 31, 2006 09:00pm |
| obstruction:asa/fed | Little Jimmy | Softball | 10 | Sat Feb 14, 2004 04:13pm |
| Obstruction at First | Cubbies87 | Baseball | 9 | Sun Sep 28, 2003 07:53pm |
| Obstruction or nothing? | heyblue | Softball | 6 | Thu Mar 13, 2003 06:04pm |