The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 04, 2009, 09:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
It's still obstruction - it's just type b and you don't award home.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2009, 01:21am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
It's still obstruction - it's just type b and you don't award home.
To further clarify, you award R2 3rd base on the obstruction, because that is the base he was going back to, not trying to score.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2009, 07:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
I'd be careful with the way you're stating it, Steve. The runner may still be advancing, i.e. - moving forward after rounding third base with no real intent of trying to score at the time of the obstruction.

Type B, runner to third. Someone is bound to read your statement and say that the runner would be awarded third base because he was moving toward third, or home because he was moving in that direction.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2009, 08:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
It's still obstruction - it's just type b and you don't award home.
I disagree. Not all contact is obstruciton (or interference). Only if it hinders the pattern of play (or words to that effect depending on the rules set).

As I envision the play in my mind's eye, it's nothing. (But, I would remind F5 to stay out of the way.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2009, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I disagree. Not all contact is obstruciton (or interference). Only if it hinders the pattern of play (or words to that effect depending on the rules set).

As I envision the play in my mind's eye, it's nothing. (But, I would remind F5 to stay out of the way.)
Bob,
I'd agree with this for Fed rules. Simply b/c in Fed, if OBS is called, the runner is awarded the next base.

In OBR, I disagree and I think Kyle got it. I still call OBS b/c of the contact. It is not incidental b/c F5 had no business being there. And, in OBR, base awards(whether it be advancing or returning) are given if any apply. As in Kyle's ex., the runner is thrown out by a mile. So, even though OBS would be called, the runner is still out at HP.

So, in the OP, I still have OBS but no awards are given if not playing under Fed or any rule set which automatically awards at least 1 base on OBS.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 16, 2009, 10:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 183
GA Umpire says: "So, in the OP, I still have OBS but no awards are given if not playing under Fed or any rule set which automatically awards at least 1 base on OBS."

If F1 blocks the bag on a pickoff play at 1st, without the ball, and OBS is called, is the runner only protected back to 1st, or is he awarded 2nd on the OBS?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 16, 2009, 10:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Bishopcolle,

Whether NFHS, NCAA, or OBR if a runner is obstructed while the defense is "making a play" on him, he is awarded one base beyond his position at the time he was obstructed.

What actually constitutes obstruction varies somewhat from one code to another.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2009, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I disagree. Not all contact is obstruciton (or interference). Only if it hinders the pattern of play (or words to that effect depending on the rules set).

As I envision the play in my mind's eye, it's nothing. (But, I would remind F5 to stay out of the way.)
Disagree. A runner rounding third is looking to advance if possible.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction? tarheelcoach Baseball 68 Sat Mar 24, 2007 08:35pm
OBSTRUCTION going into 2nd??? PFISTO Baseball 11 Sun Dec 31, 2006 09:00pm
obstruction:asa/fed Little Jimmy Softball 10 Sat Feb 14, 2004 04:13pm
Obstruction at First Cubbies87 Baseball 9 Sun Sep 28, 2003 07:53pm
Obstruction or nothing? heyblue Softball 6 Thu Mar 13, 2003 06:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1