![]() |
|
|
|||
Obstruction ignored?
Runner on first. Batter hits one in the gap. First baseman and batter/runner make contact as he rounds first on the way to second. Batter/runner ends up on second and R1 stops at third.
Is the obstruction by the first baseman ignored because the batter/runner achieved the base he was attempting to acquire? Thanks |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm referring here to OBR-based rules. I think the Fed (high school) rule is slightly different. Okay, I took my shot; everyone else can start picking this apart. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 Last edited by SanDiegoSteve; Tue May 19, 2009 at 12:18am. |
|
|||
Quote:
In this case, if you judged that the runner would have acquired 2B (which was also his advance base), no additional award would be appropriate under FED rules.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
If there is obstruction on a following runner, the position of the lead runner may end up determining where the obstructed runner will be placed.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I think what Bob is saying is that if you feel a B/R need be awarded 2B on the play and R2 is there already, you can award him 3B to "open" up that base to award the B/R 2B.
__________________
Ump Rube ----------------------------------------------------- Ump (uhmp) shorted form; an official in a sport who rules on plays. Rube (roob) slang; sports fan who listens to KFAN in Minneapolis, MN. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
That's where I'm confused. How can I think an obstructed BR would have attained second base when a preceding unobstructed runner is camped out there?
|
|
|||
Bases loaded. F1 tries to pick off R2 at 2nd. Both F6 and F4 go to cover second base. While R2 is going back to 2nd, he is obstructed by F6. F4 applies the tag.
Obstruction on F6. R2 awarded third. R3 forced home. |
|
|||
Just to be clear: this would happen ONLY for FED. In OBR (and codes based on it), R2 would be awarded 2B, the base to which he was returning.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Obstruction | tibear | Baseball | 30 | Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:46am |
Obstruction? | tarheelcoach | Baseball | 68 | Sat Mar 24, 2007 08:35pm |
OBSTRUCTION going into 2nd??? | PFISTO | Baseball | 11 | Sun Dec 31, 2006 09:00pm |
Obstruction or not? | DTQ_Blue | Baseball | 35 | Tue Oct 17, 2006 04:26pm |
Obstruction at First | Cubbies87 | Baseball | 9 | Sun Sep 28, 2003 07:53pm |