The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2009, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Memphis TN area
Posts: 158
Third Strike "Legally Caught"

Having trouble with understanding - "Legally Caught" as in reference to 6.05 B, "If a foul-tip first strikes the catcher’s glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher’s glove or hand first."

Not sure what it means, "...goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector....."

I thought a foul tip was a direct stike to the catcher's glove and had to be caught. It seems the catcher can bobble the ball before it hits the ground.

If there is an old link to this subject please advise so we can allow for other discussions.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"He caught it in the air, Coach." Adam Basketball 4 Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:15am
ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight pizanno Basketball 27 Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am
Repeated "Dropped Second Strike" Activity by Coach? IamMatt Softball 9 Sun May 11, 2008 07:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1