![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Good Call
It was called correctly. Voluntary release. Here is something to think about. If that wasn't a 4 man crew, that would have been a very difficult play to call
__________________
Once in awhile you can get shown the light, in the strangest of places if you look at it right |
|
|||
|
tim what did you expect he is from Texas....LOL
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them." |
|
|||
|
Says the guy in Mississippi.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers Last edited by Welpe; Wed May 06, 2009 at 12:20am. |
|
|||
|
well Tx ump is his screen name and it says he is from Wheaton, TX.... I guess it could be close to MS..
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
|
Pardon me for being a bit ignorant here... but i'm not making the connection with the "on the transfer" analogy of calling this a catch.
The only time I see an "on the transfer" call is on the front end of the double play, or an outfielder is trying to throw out the runner after a caught fly ball. In both scenarios, the fielder has complete control of his body and he bobbled the transfer because he was trying to throw someone out at another base. In the video, the ball was transferred (hard to tell full speed) from his glove to hand, but what for? He wasn't trying to throw anybody out because he still hasn't stopped stumbling. I'm a little confused because this looks like a no-catch to me... PS- the video appears to show that they ruled it a no-catch. The beginning scoreboard at the top has nobody on and 1 out and when Ankiel is being carted off, there is R3 and still 1 out... Last edited by bossman72; Tue May 05, 2009 at 10:36pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Heck - on a third out the fielder often takes the ball from his glove (obviously for no reason as there's no play to be made) and tosses it into the stands. Would you think that wasn't a catch?
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong Last edited by Rich Ives; Tue May 05, 2009 at 10:57pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Also, the box shows no error on Ankiel, and no hits for Feliz. So.....it was ruled a catch. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| BU help PU with catch/no catch in infield? | Angler | Softball | 4 | Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:20am |
| Catch or no catch(foul ball)? | illiniwek8 | Baseball | 2 | Sat Mar 25, 2006 07:16pm |
| Is this a catch? | Dakota | Softball | 40 | Fri Mar 03, 2006 05:12pm |
| To catch, or not to catch; the coin, that is... | chiefgil | Football | 13 | Wed Aug 11, 2004 06:40am |
| Catch/No Catch | Illini_Ref | Baseball | 3 | Fri May 21, 2004 12:49pm |