![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Refer to the original post: Manager makes pitching change, walks back to the dugout, then walks back onto the field to second baseman. Umpire informs manager that he was charged a conference as he is walking back to the dugout. You can't charge a conference because the umpire should have disallowed the meeting between the manager and second baseman to happen. I really want to see the rule you are trying to apply that allows an umpire to charge a conference after a pitching change but before the pitcher has faced a batter or a third out is made.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade." |
|
|||
|
Two bits, with respect, you are wrong
1. HC has conference with pitcher, and replaces him. No conference charged.
2. Sometime during the conference he heads to the dugout. By rule, conference is over, correct? 3. He then goes out to talk with infielders. HOW is that not another conference? 4. If he has conferences left, how is it illegal to use one? 5. Your rule does not apply here, if he had no conferences left, then he could not cross the foul line and have another conference. There is nothing in the rules that say he cannot use two or three conferences during one AB if he wants to, as long as the number of conferences used in the game do not add up to more than three. 6. If he goes into the dugout for a reason, say, equipment needed changed, and he goes out to an infielder, and tells the PU why, that's another story. He had every chance to talk to the infielders while he was on the mound making a pitching change. In the OC he gave that right up when he went past the foul line. Please show me where this is wrong. Last edited by jkumpire; Thu Apr 02, 2009 at 01:16pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
2) Still agree 3) This is where we disagree. Last time I'm going to explain it: FED 3-1-2: If a pitcher is replaced while his team is on defense, the substitute pitcher shall pitch to the batter then at bat or any substitute for that batter until such batter is put out or reaches base or until a third out is made. To ensure that the requirements of this article be fulfilled, the umpire will deny any coach-defensive player conference that will violate the rule. Read it again: the umpire will deny any coach-defensive player conference that will violate the rule.[/ The coach makes the change, goes back to dugout, decides he wants to come back out. Umpire should say, "No, coach, you can not come back out for a conference until the pitcher has faced a batter or recorded a third out."
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The part you seem to be missing is "THE RULE" -- and "THE RULE" is that a pitcher must face one batter (or have the side retired) before he's replaced. So, we all agree -- if the conference would require the pitcher to be removed, then the conference should not be allowed. But, if the conference would NOT require the pitcher to be removed, then the conference is allowed. |
|
|||
|
Two bits, get a clue
The guys talking to you, including me are anything but Trolls. That last post is really discouraging. You are intentionally misreading our posts, then hitting us because you don't like the answer. Man up.
|
|
|||
|
I don't understand what you mean by troll. It looked like people here were having a good discussion, then you made that unnecessary comment.
|
|
|||
|
TwoBits: This is a rare instance where the written rule also sets forth the purpose (spirit) of the rule: "To ensure that the requirements of this article [3-1-2] be fulfilled..." 3-1-2 is in the "Substituting" section, and requires a substitute pitcher to face one batter (unless he is injured or dumped). It has nothing to do with defining or limiting charged conferences. They are covered in 2-10-1 and 3-4.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Reasonable and knowlegeable people corrected you. Accept it, learn from it and move on; or take your ball and go home. Your choice. |
|
|||
|
I'll respectfully apologize, guys. In my haste to reply, I neglected to read Mr. Jenkins's response clearly. In re-reading Mr. Jenkins's response, it is clear that I was wrong in my interpretation.
As for the troll comment, I was so sure that I was right that others were disputing me just to be disruptive. Sorry guys, my fault, my mistake. Don't hate me for it.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
5.. you are really wrong... NCAA Rule 9-4 try to read this one.... b. If a coach or his nonplaying representative goes to the mound a second time in the inning to talk to the same pitcher, the pitcher must be removed from the pitcher’s position for the remainder of the game. The coach is to indicate the relief pitcher to an umpire immediately after crossing the foul line (see 7-2-c-[5]-[b]-[4]); A.R. 1—If, after one trip to the same pitcher in the same inning, or three free trips in a game, the coach goes to the plate umpire to announce a pitching change (does not go to the mound), a second trip shall be charged (when the change is recorded on the official lineup card). If moved to a defensive position, the pitcher shall not return to pitch. A.R. 2—The relief pitcher, when called from the bullpen by the umpire, must proceed immediately to the mound. Any additional pitches thrown in the bullpen will be subtracted from the eight preparatory pitches permitted on the mound. In the case of an injury to 114 RULE 9 / PITCHING the current pitcher, the substitute pitcher shall take all warm-up pitches from the game mound. c. A coach may not make a second trip to the mound in the same inning with the same batter at bat. However, if a pinch-hitter is substituted, the coach may make a second trip but must remove the pitcher; (1) In this pinch-hitter situation, a relief pitcher, having just been brought in to pitch, may not be removed from the game before pitching completely to one batter or the side has been retired (see 5-5-b). (2) If the coach previously has used the allowed free trips and mistakenly is allowed to go to the mound for a conference, the pitcher shall be removed from the position after the batter completes the turn at bat. The pitcher may not re-enter the game as a pitcher. (3) If the coach starts to the mound for a second trip with the same batter at bat in the same inning, the umpire shall warn that this act is not permitted. If the coach continues to the mound, the coach shall be ejected and the pitcher must complete pitching to the batter; when the batter’s turn is completed, the pitcher shall be removed from the game. The coach should be warned of the impending removal so that another pitcher can start warming up. The substitute pitcher shall be permitted the eight preparatory pitches unless circumstances justify additional pitches.
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them." |
|
|||
|
My good man, please read the first posd in the thread.
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Charged Conference??? | VaCoach | Baseball | 14 | Tue Apr 10, 2007 09:13pm |
| charged conference | Little Jimmy | Softball | 2 | Wed Jul 21, 2004 04:10pm |
| charged conference or not ? | AnitanKS | Softball | 7 | Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:28am |
| Charged Conference | mikeysneed | Baseball | 5 | Tue Apr 30, 2002 09:52am |
| Charged conference - or - not? | ntxblue | Softball | 5 | Sat Mar 23, 2002 01:48am |