The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2002, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 229
Defensive coach requests time, takes trip to the pitcher's circle. All infielders come to the circle and coach "discusses their situation". After some time, PU prompts for the end of the conference. Coach leaves the circle, but before returning to the dugout, turns and announces a pitching change and returns to the circle.

Should he be charged with the "previous conference"?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2002, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally posted by ntxblue
Defensive coach requests time, takes trip to the pitcher's circle. All infielders come to the circle and coach "discusses their situation". After some time, PU prompts for the end of the conference. Coach leaves the circle, but before returning to the dugout, turns and announces a pitching change and returns to the circle.

Should he be charged with the "previous conference"?
JMO, but if coach never left field of play and made the
change, he should not be charged!

glen
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2002, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
I am assuming this is Fed ball - which does not define when a conference ends (that I am aware of). So the conference ends when I say it ends. Game management time with this one. If the conference breaks up without my intervention, I would not count it as a charged conference. If, however, I break up the conference, it counts as a charged conference. If this is ASA, the conference ends when the coach enters dead ball territory - see case book play for Rule 5, Section 7, Article B.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2002, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 549
Hey Gary

I dont know FED but under ASA you would I believe charged defense with a charged conference under POE 11 it states for NOT to be a charged conference the team representative informs an umpire PRIOR to crossing the foul line that the representative is removing the pitcher and does so


Don

P.S. Gary are you working the tournament this weekend or doing H.S. I am starting tomorrow at 11:45 on RED
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2002, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
Fed softball doesn't codify how a conference ends, but Fed baseball does.

Fed baseball states that a defensive conference ends when the coach crosses the foul line if the conference was in fair territory.

That is what I would apply in a Fed softball game.

Roger Greene
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 23, 2002, 01:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
FED Softball, Rule 3.4.1.

Read it. No conference charged when pitcher is removed, PERIOD. It doesn't say if the removal is before or after the coach talks to the pitcher.

Bob
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1