![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
The coach was wrong about the above, but I agree with Dave on the OOO. Those other examples of dead ball situations are different and the game could be delayed. What if, while near the mound, the coach sees that the new pitcher has an illegal glove, and while F1 warms up, the coach walks to the dugout and grabs a different glove. I cant believe a charged conf is warranted..... |
|
|||
Quote:
I thought the OP said he concluded his visit as indicated by entering the dugout and then went back on the field to conference with his defense. I better check my reading glasses. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() In the original post, the coach crossed the foul line (FED) there-by ending the visit. He cannot return to the field on a free ride - period No "what-if's" The umpire was correct in charging a visit in this case. Furthermore, had this been OBR, when the coach leaves the dirt of the mound, he has to keep walking to the dugout. If he tries to return, he gets warned that he will be ejected and if he ignores the warning, he's done.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
I would say this is definitley a bit of OOO, but our OOO is also wrong with his interpretation.
FED 3-1-2: If a pitcher is replaced while his team is on defense, the substitute pitcher shall pitch to the batter then at bat or any substitute for that batter until such batter is put out or reaches base or until a third out is made. To ensure that the requirements of this article be fulfilled, the umpire will deny any coach-defensive player conference that will violate the rule. A conference should not have been charged. Using the correct interpretation, our OOO should have disallowed the coach back onto the field during warmups.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade." |
|
|||
Quote:
Example: Coach has used all three freebies and has put in a new pitcher. Offense counters with a pinch batter. Def. HC decided he wants a different pitcher and tries to get one by going for another trip thinking the umpire will make him pull his pitcher. In the OP situation, it is not OOO to charge a coach trying to gain an unfair advantage. |
|
|||
Quote:
The OOO, in "sticking with his guns" should have stopped the coach and informed him that he was not allowed back onto the field until the pitcher's requirements had been fulfilled.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade." |
|
|||
Quote:
You may disagree all you want, but the intent of the rule is as I stated. Bolding "any defensive player" doesn't matter, the effect is the same. The rule is in place to prevent a coach from trying to "force himself" to replace a pitcher who has not fulfilled his requirement. This is tactic used by seasoned coaches on umpires who do not understand the intent of the rule. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade." |
|
|||
A question
Quote:
How long do you allow the defense to freeze the offense in the middle of a rally by allowing free conferences with his infielders? If you don't charge him a conference, he can talk all day or as many times as he wants to people if he makes a pitching change. Makes no sense to me. By the bye, you are misreading the rule, IMO. If the defense has conferences left, then talking to another defense player is not illegal. But it is going to cost him a conference to do so. So it is not OOO to charge him with a conference. It is not illegal for him to go back to the field after he crosses the foul line if he has conferences left to use. Now, if there was an equipment problem, or a possible injury, and the HC needs to go back out, and he tells me why he is going back out, okay, no conference as long as no coaching is done. In FED ball, if you have conferences, you can meet. |
|
|||
Quote:
I have never seen a coach come out of the dugout to talk to a pitcher while warming up. I have seen a coach pass by the mound on his way back to the dugout to say a few words to the pitcher while he warms up. |
|
|||
As DG stated, it is not a charged conference in FED, nor is it a visit in NCAA or OBR (just as long as the coach or manager is not delaying the game as DG described).
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
Quote:
READ THE FRICKIN RULE BOOK FOR A CHANGE Ozzy just told you the rule...In all 3 the coach is done with and needs to leave the FIELD of play as soon as his new pitcher starts to warm up.
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them." |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
FED - the conference ends when the coach leaves the mound and crosses the foul line (going back to the dugout). The coach can leave the mound, head to the foul line, turn and meet with F3, just as long as he does not cross the foul line. OBR - the visit ends the moment the manager's feet touch the infield grass (leaves the dirt of the mound). He cannot meet with anyone else once he leaves the dirt of the mound for any reason. He must continue into the dugout. The foul line does not come into play for ending the visit as it does in FED.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Charged Conference??? | VaCoach | Baseball | 14 | Tue Apr 10, 2007 09:13pm |
charged conference | Little Jimmy | Softball | 2 | Wed Jul 21, 2004 04:10pm |
charged conference or not ? | AnitanKS | Softball | 7 | Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:28am |
Charged Conference | mikeysneed | Baseball | 5 | Tue Apr 30, 2002 09:52am |
Charged conference - or - not? | ntxblue | Softball | 5 | Sat Mar 23, 2002 01:48am |