The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Jun 19, 2002, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member

Smile

Hi all, I am a coach and am new to ASA. It's our first year in 10U. We're a new team but I brought several of my girls from a much more recreational league to this competitive one and am unsure on some rules even after pouring over the ASA rulebook. In between innings is the coach forbidden from being on the field? We're about 8 games into the season and we've played one USSSA tournament and all along while the pitcher throws her warm-up pitches I have been wandering onto the field to give the girls a last minute pep talk and assure them about where they should be positioned on the field etc. A couple of games ago after two innings the umpire informed my assistant coach at first base that I had been out for my two allowed defensive conferences and that I only had one more and I would have to take the pitcher out. I thought a conference was only charged if you asked for a suspension of play ??? I have been giving the girls their instructions from my side of the chalk line since then, but is this correct ? Thanks for your input. I have learned a lot here.
Anita
Old Wed Jun 19, 2002, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by AnitanKS
I thought a conference was only charged if you asked for a suspension of play ??? Anita
Anita,
Re USSSA (and Pony or Fed) you are correct. However, your team is alloted one minute from the time the third out is recorded to be ready for your pitcher to deliver to the batter. Have you been taking more than that time? If so the umpire could inform you that you are now taking a conference if you continue to delay play.