![]() |
|
|||
In OBR, the run counts if a runner is put out after overrunning a base, even if the out comes before the runner from 3B tags home. A declared out is a different matter. If the BR rounded 1B and passed the runner on 1B before the runner from 3B touched the plate, the run would not score.
I'm not sure about Fed or NCAA, but the answer is probably in the BRD. I believe that when the run is the winning run, only the runner from 3B and the BR must touch. The OP question came up this year in NCAA softball. Same ruling as OBR. I admit that I'm not sure of the following: Bases loaded, 2 out, ball 4 gets away from F2. R3 scores, R2 misses 3B and also scores. Defense appeals R2's miss of 3B. I think that, since it's a force out, that out would nullify both runs, regardless of the award on the base on balls.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! Last edited by greymule; Thu Aug 28, 2008 at 03:07pm. |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Does the run count? | DeputyUICHousto | Softball | 18 | Thu Jun 19, 2008 07:52am |
count it or not? | elecref | Basketball | 11 | Fri Oct 14, 2005 09:06pm |
5 second count | rbmartin | Basketball | 12 | Mon Feb 07, 2005 11:34am |
Should it count? | Ref in PA | Basketball | 25 | Tue Dec 07, 2004 01:19pm |
ten second count | chas | Basketball | 8 | Mon Oct 18, 2004 11:11am |