The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 06, 2008, 11:58am
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Obstruction question

FED. B1 hits a ground ball to short. Shortstop's throw is to the home plate side of first (bad throw). B1, seeing it's a bad throw and F3 is coming off the bag toward him, veers around F3 who ever touches the bad throw. The umpire calls "That's obstruction". The throw goes to the fence, and B1 goes safely into second base. The defense then appeals B1 missed first base, which in fact he did. The offensive coach says he missed it because of being obstructed by F3.

What's the call?

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 06, 2008, 12:27pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
I believe you've still got to touch first. Since there's a deadball, the runner can't go back and touch. Therefore, he is out on appeal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 06, 2008, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
I agree with tjones1, the BR is out on appeal. Even though the BR was awarded 2nd base, it is the BR's responsibility to legally gain the awarded bases. BR is out on proper appeal. BR has the opportunity, once the ball is declared dead to touch 1b then proceed to the awarded second base.

To put another perspective on it, if BR hits a home run (s)he is awarded four bases, by rule. If (s)he misses 1b on his/her way around, (s)he can be called out on proper appeal. Same concept as what you are asking.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 06, 2008, 12:59pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
The pro interpretation has been (someone will post a reference) that if the obstruction clearly caused the missed base, the appeal will be denied.

It's my rule of thumb and how I would rule in a FED game, too.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 06, 2008, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN
The pro interpretation has been (someone will post a reference) that if the obstruction clearly caused the missed base, the appeal will be denied.

It's my rule of thumb and how I would rule in a FED game, too.
I think it's if the obstruction PREVENTED a touch of a base the appeal will be denied.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 06, 2008, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
I think it's if the obstruction PREVENTED a touch of a base the appeal will be denied.
Maybe I'm off my rocker here but doesn't the runner have the responsibility to legally touch each base? If I were the runner I would have touched 1B then put the pressure on the umpire to award me second because of the obstruction. I understand that I might be pushed 5 feet out of the baseline to avoid contact at 1B but the umpire has already acknowledged there is obstruction (according to the post). I could easily make a case that I would have legally gained 2B if I was not obstructed.

I could very well be wrong, though, but I firmly believe the BR must touch 1B or possibly be called out on proper appeal.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 06, 2008, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN
The pro interpretation has been (someone will post a reference) that if the obstruction clearly caused the missed base, the appeal will be denied.

It's my rule of thumb and how I would rule in a FED game, too.
Agreed.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 06, 2008, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
I believe you've still got to touch first. Since there's a deadball, the runner can't go back and touch. Therefore, he is out on appeal.
What deadball? The OP doesnt say that...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 06, 2008, 02:53pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by archangel
What deadball? The OP doesnt say that...
You're right. I misread it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 06, 2008, 10:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: illinois
Posts: 251
Maybe to clarify this play a bit as JJ and I spoke about this play before he posted it.

As the BR veered around F1 in front of and on the home plate side of the bag, BR veered only to avoid the "train wreck". After he veered by F3 he ran by first base not attempting to touch 1st base as he passed it.

With this information, it appears that most agree the runner would be out on appeal. (this was a high school game)

Also, does anyone know the play or plays involved in the ncaa interpretations given. Just curious...........
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction Question BigUmp56 Baseball 8 Sun Apr 16, 2006 04:20pm
Another Obstruction question. gdc25 Softball 6 Tue Apr 11, 2006 11:39am
Another question about obstruction bigwes68 Softball 3 Fri Apr 15, 2005 11:35am
Yet Another Obstruction Question Striker991 Baseball 2 Mon May 05, 2003 02:47pm
Obstruction question David Emerling Baseball 21 Fri Dec 07, 2001 05:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1