![]() |
|
|||
Runner attempts to advance during dead ball
Haven't posted in a long time because I'm not officiating this year, but I saw a play in a game today that intrigued me because I've never seen it before.
NCAA. R1, R2, 1 out. Home manager requests time, comes to plate umpire to make what ends up being a triple switch (not really relevant to play, but also rare). While all this is going on and while new F1 is taking warmup tosses, R2 comes over to talk to third base coach, but nonchalantly stands on third while doing it. Play resumes, R2 remains on third. Before a pitch is thrown, home manager comes out to point out that runner is out of position, also has a few choice words for visiting manager (needless to say, R2 would have definitely got one in his ear if he had come up again; this was the 8th inning). Umpires make R2 return to 2B, play continues without further incident. Correct ruling? What happens if a pitch is thrown or if F1 steps off and throws to 3B (or 2B)? Should runner be ejected for unsportsmanlike conduct (I believe NCAA softball has a rule regarding this very situation, don't know if baseball has a similar rule). (Home manager told me after the game that he asked all three umpires what the proper ruling was and that he got three different answers.) |
|
|||
R2 most defiantly would NOT have got one in his ear because he would no longer be in the game...
IMO Proper ruling: 1. Need new R2 and 3B coach. Should HC even think of whining he would be gone too. I have no patience for this type of BS, esp at the college level. 2. New R2, new 3B coach. No other changes - no place in the rules to get an out here. Q - Was U3 sleeping or what? He only has two jobs here - help PU keep track of the number of warm up pitches (If PU is occupied with other things) and make sure base runner(s) return to the proper base. |
|
|||
You'd better be able to justify ejecting these two under NCAA and OBR (I don't do FED ball so won't comment on that). Is what R2 did lame? Probably. But I doubt I'd outright eject R2 or the coach. I try to avoid EJs as much as possible. I'd most likely call time and tell R2 in a somewhat scolding but not irate tone something like, "All right, get back to second where you belong...".
|
|
|||
Quote:
Bob |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm not (yet) NCAA, but I can't imagine that NCAA would condone this kind of thing. No one plausibly claims this was an accident, which means that it's blatant cheating. It certainly gets an EJ in FED. So some of you would EJ a player for calling you horseshït, but not for this?
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Any umpire who doesn't EJ 3rd base coach and R2 doesn't have a backbone in my opinion.
I try to stay away from EJ's too, but sometimes you have to take care of business. Both those participants CHEATED. That needs to be penalized more than just fixing what they tried to cheat with. And as PU, I'm cutting off defensive manager. "Skip, I'll take care of it, I need you back to your dugout so I can though, and I can't have you yelling across the field at him. Let me do that for you". You leave R2 in the game and he's getting the next one in his ear. Then we have a war. You still not going to eject anyone then? Throw these clowns out. |
|
|||
Let me add this. All of what I just said applies if no umpire noticed the situation.
If I was U3 I'm stepping in as the pitcher is ready and saying "ok, back to second". Nobody knows what they tried to do and everyone gets to stay. Heck, I'd probably just assume there were some last second instructions. But if I KNEW that they were trying to cheat, they'd be gone. But I, ideally, wouldn't let it get to the point where I could know that. |
|
|||
at many levels, the coach knows darn well what they're doing...it's like the people who ask for a warning for not coming to a "stop" as the runner gets thrown out at 2B...the pitcher knew darn well what he was doing.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
If no umpire notices this 'situation' then they don't deserve to be on the field. This is preventive umpiring at it's 'finest'. If you have to EJ on this situation because the crew didn't notice it, and let it happen, then I would be embarrased to be the crew working this game.
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
Quote:
However, if it did happen then I'm going to have an ejection or three ... |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
I'll share this truth with y'all: I actually had a runner do what is stated in this thread. The runner on a foul advanced to the next base and stayed there. The third base coach even said, loud enough for me to hear, "Just stay here." I was on the bases when my partner was about to point the ball back into play. I put my hands up and said, "Hold on!" As I looked at R2 standing on third, with a stern look I yelled toward him, "Very funny. Now get back to second where you belong." Both the runner and the coach knew I wasn't happy. I'm sure they probably even realized I could have ejected them, but I didn't. And I haven't lost one ounce of respect since then. |
|
|||
Warning or Ejection Merited?
Does the rulebook suggest a penalty be involked in this case? A player warning/ejection may be merited for this unsportsmanlike act, under rule 3-3g-4, along with bench restriction or ejection of coaches. Yet our solution may be as simple as fix it and move on. Need further guidance from someone w/ more info/experience to determine the actual nature of this offense.
Posted older link from 2005 baseball side of website below. 1/2 call for DP, 1/2 call to fix it. Base Running Error? Posted similar link from 2004 softball side of website below. Calls for DP. What's the reasoning? Posted older link from 2003 softball side of website below. Calls for DP and provides {2003} FED softball case ruling, situation 10. switching of bases Note all 3 links above involve 2 runners switching bases, not one advancing a base, during a dead ball.
__________________
SAump ![]() Last edited by SAump; Mon Apr 28, 2008 at 09:59pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
TwoBits ... runner hit while touching base ... dead ball case? | bobbrix | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 01, 2006 06:58am |
Appeal after dead ball, runner returns | orioles35 | Baseball | 2 | Tue Apr 11, 2006 09:21am |
Little League 9-10 yr old - Base runner hit by batted ball... Do runners advance? | mike miles | Baseball | 2 | Thu Jul 21, 2005 08:46am |
runner advance on dead ball | crumii | Softball | 2 | Sat Jun 11, 2005 09:31pm |
Is the ball dead if Runner losses helmet? | billyhouston | Baseball | 7 | Fri Apr 01, 2005 11:53am |