The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 10, 2008, 07:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
But 7.08 h in OBR does not make that unobstructed stipulation...
True, but OBR's language includes awarding bases so as to "nullify the act of obstruction."
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 10, 2008, 07:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
So it is possible to to have the #4 batter score and the #3 batter standing on 3rd if you only protected him to third.

This is what I'm getting at.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 10, 2008, 07:59pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
So it is possible to to have the #4 batter score and the #3 batter standing on 3rd if you only protected him to third.

This is what I'm getting at.
If you have obstruction on a runner rounding third, and the one right behind him scores, you would be awarding home anyways wouldn't you?

How would this situation be handled? Announcement of "That's obstruction!" and let the play continue so that we now have the runners out of order on the basepaths or should the base runners have to correct this as soon as possible?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers

Last edited by Welpe; Thu Apr 10, 2008 at 08:02pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2008, 06:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
So it is possible to to have the #4 batter score and the #3 batter standing on 3rd if you only protected him to third.

This is what I'm getting at.
No. If the #4 batter scores then your protection of the #3 batter should have been to home.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2008, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
OK let me rewrite the sitch in more detail and change some things so perhaps my point will get across. It is possible that my point has already gotten across, and I don't know it, but hear me out.

R1. BR hits fly ball to RF which appears as though it will be caught. R1 stays close to bag. BR closes in on him. RF misplays the ball and it lands over his head. Both R1 and BR head for 2B. R1 is obstucted by F6 as he rounds 2nd. This causes BR to pass and continue to 3rd. At this point the ball was coming back into the infield, and you feel the protection that will nullify the act of OBS is R1 to 3rd.

BR is now ahead of R1. There is a play at 3rd and the ball squirts away from F5.

BR advances home. R1 is still standing on 2nd. Play is over.

R1 to 3rd on your OBS. BR's run is good.

Is this correct?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2008, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
OK let me rewrite the sitch in more detail and change some things so perhaps my point will get across. It is possible that my point has already gotten across, and I don't know it, but hear me out.

R1. BR hits fly ball to RF which appears as though it will be caught. R1 stays close to bag. BR closes in on him. RF misplays the ball and it lands over his head. Both R1 and BR head for 2B. R1 is obstucted by F6 as he rounds 2nd. This causes BR to pass and continue to 3rd. At this point the ball was coming back into the infield, and you feel the protection that will nullify the act of OBS is R1 to 3rd.

BR is now ahead of R1. There is a play at 3rd and the ball squirts away from F5.

BR advances home. R1 is still standing on 2nd. Play is over.

R1 to 3rd on your OBS. BR's run is good.

Is this correct?
Replay the play in your mind, but without the obstruction. What would have happened? (It's impossible for me to tell from your post). Do that. (and, in FED be sure R1 is awarded at least third).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2008, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
Perhaps than Bob my mind is working in its non existent 6th gear when all I really need is neutral.

In FED, since R1 must be given 3rd, than I guess BR is forced into scoring??

In OBR, to simply nullify, if the OBS never happened, we would have had R1 at 3rd and BR at 2nd, in the correct order. We ignore the passing and then just switch them back to the way it would have been had no OBS occurred.

My head hurts.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2008, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
In FED, since R1 must be given 3rd, than I guess BR is forced into scoring??
How can BR score "in advance of" a runner previously on base? (Hint: He can't).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
good spin move or palming ysong Basketball 13 Thu Mar 17, 2005 05:48pm
Looking for an earlier discussion jjrye22 Football 5 Wed Nov 24, 2004 07:12pm
Spin Move Travel muresan Basketball 25 Tue Mar 30, 2004 02:38pm
Phil Jackson plays "Spin the Refs" Dan_ref Basketball 0 Wed May 07, 2003 12:08pm
Spin move or travel? BktBallRef Basketball 17 Mon Jan 15, 2001 09:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1